Skip to content
Super promo!Reishi−50%59.50 zł119 zł (regular price)
Only 18 left at 59.50 zł, then 71.40 złSee Reishi →
Free delivery in Poland from 299 PLN

Coriolus extract: what 10:1 means, PSK, PSP, and how to read the label

DER 10:1, standardization to beta-glucans, the PSK and PSP fractions. We break down a coriolus extract label point by point, before you buy.

Mateusz Rosa

TCM therapist · Doctor of Acupuncture (WFAS) · author of a book on functional mushrooms

6 min read

Coriolus extract: what 10:1 means, PSK, PSP, and how to read the label
Contents

You're buying a coriolus extract and the label says "10:1" and "min. 30% beta-glucans", alongside the abbreviations PSK and PSP, but nobody has explained what those letters and numbers actually tell you about what's in the package. This post breaks down the coriolus label into four questions worth asking before you buy, and shows what they look like in practice on our own raw material.

What is coriolus extract, and how is it different from fruiting-body powder?

Coriolus extract is a concentrated form of the fruiting body, with part of the inactive mass (fiber, water) removed, leaving the active compounds behind. Plain dried fruiting-body powder contains the same compounds, but at the dilution natural to the raw material, without a concentration step.

The difference is practical, not marketing. Powdered coriolus fruiting body is the whole, ground mushroom, with everything in it, including mass your body can't digest. Extract is the result of a process that pulls out and concentrates the active fraction from the same amount of raw material. That's why our LONGEVITY line blends both forms in equal parts (50% 10:1 extract and 50% powdered fruiting body), while our PRIME line shifts the ratio toward extract (80% to 20%), so you can choose the intensity.

What does 10:1 (DER) mean?

DER, or drug-extract ratio, is the proportion of raw material used to produce one unit of finished extract. At DER 10:1, the producer uses 10 kilograms of dried coriolus fruiting body to get 1 kilogram of extract, a tenfold concentration relative to the starting material.

The DER number alone says nothing about where the fruiting body comes from, so it's always worth checking the raw material source. Our 10:1 extract comes from mature Trametes versicolor fruiting bodies, never from mycelium grown on rice or oats, which matters for the ratio of compounds we cover below.

What are PSK, PSP, and beta-glucans?

With coriolus, researchers focus on two groups of molecules. The first is polysaccharide-peptides, complex structures where a sugar chain is bonded to a peptide portion. In the literature they're described mainly as PSK, also known as krestin, and PSP. The second group is beta-glucans, polysaccharides with a characteristic chain and branching structure, present in the fruiting body's cell wall.

Our 10:1 extract is standardized to a minimum of 30% beta-glucans. We describe PSK and PSP as present in the extract fraction, without stating a separate standardization percentage for them, since beta-glucans are the number our label specification is built on. In practice, in a daily serving of 3 capsules (0.5 g extract each, 1.5 g total), a minimum of 450 mg is beta-glucans. That's a concrete number on the label, not a vague "rich in polysaccharides" claim.

Fruiting body vs. mycelium on grain?

Many cheaper coriolus products are mycelium grown on rice or oats, with a high starch content from the grain substrate, easily mistaken for the weight of the mushroom itself on the label.

We work exclusively with the fruiting body, never mycelium, because it's the fruiting body, not the growing substrate, that carries the documented PSK, PSP, and beta-glucan fractions. Producers selling grain-grown mycelium biomass can list a high "extract" weight on the label, even though much of it is starch from the substrate, not compounds from the mushroom itself.

How to read a coriolus label in 5 points

Before you buy a coriolus extract, check five specific things on the label, rather than going by brand name or price per package alone. Each of these points gives you a different piece of the picture.

  • Fruiting body vs. mycelium on grain · fruiting body is the hard, fan-shaped part of the mushroom known from tradition; mycelium on rice or oats is a cheaper cultivation substrate with a high starch content.
  • DER (extraction ratio) · e.g. 10:1, tells you about concentration, not raw material quality.
  • Beta-glucan standardization · a percentage without a clearly stated minimum is hard to verify.
  • Milligrams per serving, not just percentage · a percentage in the extract is not the same as the real amount in a daily capsule, scoop, or drop.
  • Batch testing · does the producer test every batch at an independent, accredited laboratory for heavy metals and pesticide residues.

In our case, every batch goes to the independent, accredited Eurofins laboratory before a package leaves the warehouse.

Frequently asked questions about coriolus extract

Does a higher DER always mean a better product? Not automatically. A higher DER tells you about weight-based concentration, not the content of specific compounds. A 4:1 extract standardized to a high beta-glucan percentage can realistically contain more per serving than a non-standardized 15:1 extract. Always look at both parameters together.

How is PSK different from PSP? Both names describe coriolus polysaccharide-peptides, complex molecules that combine a sugar chain with a peptide portion. PSK is also known as krestin. The literature distinguishes them by isolation method and strain origin, but both are among the best-documented fractions of this species.

Why are some coriolus extracts cheaper despite a similar DER? Most often because they use mycelium on rice or oats instead of fruiting body, or don't test every batch at an independent laboratory. These choices lower production cost, but they also change the composition of the final product.

Does the label always state beta-glucan standardization? Not always, and that's a warning sign. A percentage without a clearly stated minimum is hard to verify and compare across products from different producers.

For more on choosing between coriolus forms in practice, see our post on capsules, powder, and drops, and for dosage in concrete numbers see coriolus dosage. We cover the species' tradition and appearance in coriolus, turkey tail, and how to read extract labels in general in how to read an extract label. Read more about the species itself and its tradition in our coriolus guide.


This content is for educational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. A food supplement does not replace a varied diet or a healthy lifestyle. If in doubt, consult your doctor or pharmacist.

Turkey tail (Coriolus) in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

10

human studies

2

placebo-controlled RCTs

2003–2026

years of publication

  • Pilkington K. et al., 2022

    A

    Cochrane review with meta-analysis (PSK, drug)

    7 RCTs, 1569 people

    The Cochrane systematic review with meta-analysis collected 7 RCTs (1569 people) on the effect of PSK (a pharmaceutical drug, not a supplement) on adverse effects of chemotherapy/radiotherapy in colorectal cancer.

    PMID 36445793
  • Oba K. et al., 2006

    A

    meta-analysis of RCTs (PSK, drug)

    8 RCTs, 8009 patients

    The meta-analysis of RCTs collected 8 studies (8009 patients) on PSK (a drug) as adjunct therapy in gastric cancer.

    PMID 17106715
  • Ma Y. et al., 2017

    B

    network meta-analysis (PSK, drug)

    23 studies, 10,684 patients

    The network meta-analysis collected 23 studies (10,684 patients) on PSK (a drug) in gastrointestinal cancers.

    PMID 29179503
  • Zhong L. et al., 2019

    B

    meta-analysis of RCTs

    23 studies, 4246 people

    The meta-analysis of RCTs collected 23 studies (4246 people) on Coriolus versicolor and Ganoderma lucidum preparations used as adjunct therapy in oncology patients.

    PMID 31333449
  • Tsang K.W. et al., 2003

    C

    pilot RCT, placebo-controlled (PSP, drug)

    68 people

    The pilot placebo-controlled RCT examined PSP (a drug) in non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) in 68 people.

    PMID 12814145
  • Torkelson C.J. et al., 2012

    D

    phase I, dose escalation (whole extract, not a drug)

    11 recruited, 9 completed

    The phase I dose-escalation study examined the safety and tolerability of a whole Trametes versicolor extract (not the purified PSK/PSP drug) in women after radiotherapy for breast cancer. 11 recruited, 9 completed.

    PMID 22701186
  • Pallav K. et al., 2014

    C

    RCT (PSP, drug)

    24 recruited, 22 completed

    The RCT examined the effect of PSP (a drug) combined with amoxicillin on the gut microbiome of healthy people. 24 recruited, 22 completed.

    PMID 25006989
  • Koda K. et al., 2003

    C

    RCT (PSK, drug)

    558 people

    The RCT examined PSK (a drug) added to postoperative chemotherapy in 558 people.

    PMID 12792790
  • Yu Z.T. et al., 2013

    E

    in vitro (human faecal fermentation, PSP) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    number of donors not specified

    The in vitro study examined the fermentation of PSP by human faecal microbiota cultured outside the body (bacterial composition, pH) compared with fructooligosaccharides.

    PMID 23435630
  • Saleh M.H. et al., 2017

    E

    narrative review (PSP) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed the immunomodulatory mechanisms of PSP (cytokines, tumour microenvironment) in the context of adjuvant therapy in Asia.

    PMID 28932226
  • Wenner C.A. et al., 2012

    E

    animal (mice, PSK) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not specified

    The mouse study examined PSK (a drug) combined with docetaxel (tumour size, lymphocyte infiltration, NK cell activity).

    PMID 22159900
  • Standish L.J. et al., 2008

    E

    narrative review (PSK) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The review synthesised Asian RCTs on PSK (a drug: gastric, colorectal, oesophageal, breast cancer) and immunological mechanisms. No data on the effect of the whole extract as distinct from PSK.

    PMID 19087769
  • Wong E.L.Y. et al., 2012

    B

    systematic review with meta-analysis (PSK, drug)

    13 clinical studies

    The meta-analysis examined the effect of PSK (a drug) preparations added to standard treatment on survival of cancer patients, based on 13 clinical studies.

    PMID 22185453
  • Habtemariam S., 2020

    E

    narrative review (PSP and PSK) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The review synthesised in vitro, in vivo and clinical evidence for commercial PSP and PSK preparations as adjunct therapy.

    PMID 32466253
  • Cui J., Chisti Y., 2003

    E

    narrative review, bioprocess-focused (PSP) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review focused on the biotechnological production of PSP, with a brief discussion of biological activity.

    PMID 14499133
  • Knežević A. et al., 2018

    E

    in vitro, 3 Trametes species · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study examined antioxidant, antifungal, cytotoxic activity and acetylcholinesterase/tyrosinase inhibition for extracts of three Trametes species from Serbia.

    PMID 30169542
  • Muszyńska B. et al., 2018

    E

    general review (not specifically about Coriolus) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    General review of the anti-inflammatory properties of edible mushrooms; does not specifically concern Coriolus, a source shared across multiple species hubs.

    PMID 29146352
  • Saxe G. et al., 2026

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled (combined FoTv preparation, not Coriolus alone)

    90 (52 FoTv, 38 placebo)

    The RCT examined the safety and feasibility of administering the FoTv mycelium preparation (Fomitopsis officinalis + Trametes versicolor) as an adjunct to COVID-19 vaccination, with observation up to 6 months. A combined preparation of two species; results cannot be attributed to Trametes versicolor alone.

    PMID 41620671
  • Ziaja-Sołtys M., Jaszek M., 2025

    E

    review (no full PRISMA protocol), mostly preclinical · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    11 studies, including 1 phase I study (= 5.6)

    The review collected 11 studies (2010-2025) on Coriolus versicolor in breast cancer, mostly cell lines and mice, plus one phase I study. Larger placebo-controlled studies are needed.

    DOI 10.3390/cimb47100808

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Discover functional mushrooms

© 2026 Aloha Fungi™