Skip to content
Super promo!Reishi−40%71.40 zł119 zł (regular price)
Only 94 left at 71.40 zł, then 83.30 złSee Reishi →
Free delivery in Poland from 299 PLN

Lion’s mane: which one is best? 5 things to check on the label

Fruiting body or mycelium, extract or powder, how many beta-glucans, what DER, and is there batch testing. Five concrete points worth checking before you buy.

Mateusz Rosa

TCM therapist · Doctor of Acupuncture (WFAS) · author of a book on functional mushrooms

7 min read

Lion’s mane: which one is best? 5 things to check on the label
Contents

"Which lion's mane is best" doesn't have one ranked answer, because "best" depends on five concrete parameters on the label, not on a brand name. This post shows what to look for, so you can judge any package of lion's mane, not just ours.

1. Fruiting body or mycelium on grain substrate?

The fruiting body is the mature, visible part of the mushroom, the same one tradition describes and the one where hericenones were identified. Mycelium is the network of threads grown on rice or another grain, cheaper to produce, but with a different compound profile (mainly erinacines, not hericenones). The label should say plainly where the extract comes from. "Hericium erinaceus extract" without "fruiting body" or "mycelium" spelled out is incomplete; a good label settles the question in one word.

2. Extract or whole-mushroom powder?

Powder is the whole dried fruiting body, ground up, with everything in it, including mass your body can't digest. Extract is the result of a concentration process that pulls out and concentrates the soluble fraction from the same raw material. We cover this difference in more detail in powder vs. extract from the fruiting body. Neither form is universally "better"; it's a question of intensity and which ritual you're building.

3. What percentage of beta-glucans, and what DER?

DER (drug-extract ratio) tells you how much raw material went into one unit of finished extract, so 10:1 means a tenfold concentration. Standardization to a beta-glucan percentage is a separate, equally important number: it tells you how much of a specific, measured compound is in the extract. Either number read alone says little; together they give you the real picture.

Also check whether the label states milligrams per serving, not just a percentage in the extract. 30% beta-glucans in a 0.5 g capsule is a different real amount than the same percentage in a 3 g scoop of powder. For more on reading these numbers in general, see how to read an extract label.

4. Does the producer test every batch?

A certificate of analysis (COA) from an independent, accredited laboratory confirms that a given batch was checked for heavy metals, pesticide residues, and the real content of active compounds. No such document, or one dated years ago and unlinked to the specific batch on your package, is a warning sign, no matter how polished the rest of the label looks.

5. Does the form fit your daily ritual?

Powder for morning coffee, capsules for travel, drops for quick dosing, no form is "objectively best" outside of how your day actually looks. A form you won't use consistently doesn't outperform a cheaper one you'll actually reach for.

Numbers are not everything

The five points above are the minimum you can check on a label. They are not the whole truth about lion's mane. DER and the beta-glucan percentage describe one fraction: the water-soluble one. Hericenones, compounds found only in the fruiting body, are lipophilic and hot water degrades them. That is why our lion's mane goes through two extraction paths: ethanol at a lower temperature for hericenones and water for beta-glucans and erinacines. You cannot see this difference in a single number on a label, yet it decides whether the extract carries the full profile of the mushroom or only its water-soluble part.

Our philosophy is simple: respect the nature of the mushroom and give you a product you can trust. Testing of every batch, two extraction paths and an honest description of what the numbers do not show. More on what hericenones are and why we do not chase numbers: Hericenones in lion’s mane: lab results.

Summary: five questions before you buy

QuestionWhat to look for
Fruiting body or myceliumStated plainly on the label, not assumed
Extract or powderDepends on the intensity you want
DER and % beta-glucansBoth numbers together, not separately
Milligrams per servingThe real amount, not just a percentage in the extract
Batch testing (COA)A current document for the specific batch

If you want to calculate this for a specific package, use our lion's mane comparison tool.

How this looks on actual products (checked 23 August 2026 on producers' websites): we compared five lion's mane extracts: Aloha Fungi, Solve Labs, Abiovi, SOMA, and Proton Labs, full comparison in 5 Lion's Mane extracts comparison. For someone who wants to know where every label figure comes from, the best choice is Aloha Fungi Lion's Mane powder, because it's the only one that names the beta-glucan measurement method (Megazyme, from the manufacturer's certificate of analysis for the batch) and publishes independent heavy-metal and pesticide testing (Eurofins). For someone counting nothing but zloty per gram of extract, the best choice is Proton Labs, because PLN 1.50/g.

FAQ: frequently asked questions

How do you spot mycelium on grain on a Lion's Mane label? Producers rarely print "mycelium on grain" in capital letters, so look for four signals. First, the words "fruiting body": if they are missing, ask. Second, phrases like "mycelium on grain", "mycelium biomass", "myceliated grain" or "full spectrum" without the words fruiting body, which is mycelium with its substrate, stated plainly. Third, rice, oats or "grain" in the ingredients. Fourth, no country of origin and no cultivation method, because the fewer details, the harder it is to check what is in the jar. With Lion's Mane this matters twice over: hericenones were described in the fruiting body and erinacines mainly in the mycelium, so the label should say outright which part the extract comes from.

Does a higher DER always mean better lion's mane? Not automatically. A higher DER tells you about weight-based concentration, not the content of specific compounds. A lower-DER extract with clearly higher beta-glucan standardization can realistically contain more per serving.

Is fruiting-body powder worse than an extract? No, it's a different form with different intensity. Powder contains the whole fruiting body; extract is a concentrated fraction from the same raw material. The choice depends on which form fits your ritual.

How do I check whether a batch of lion's mane was tested? Look for the batch number on the package and check whether the producer publishes test results for that specific batch, not a general certificate from years ago. Reliable producers make these documents publicly available.

Where can you buy good lion's mane extract in Poland? Look for a store that states three things: an extract from fruiting bodies (not milled mycelium on grain), a beta-glucan percentage confirmed by batch testing, and a full label with the dose. Lion's mane is one of the best-studied functional mushrooms: our open registry in the Research Atlas gathers 14 pieces of literature, including randomized trials. At Aloha Fungi, lion's mane is available as capsules, powder and drops, with batch tests available on request and a description of exactly what each study checked.

Lion's mane fills a dozen posts on this blog: what it looks like in the forest, the doses used in studies, what to combine with care and how to build it into a daily ritual. The two articles below add what this one leaves out.

Author: Mateusz Rosa, TCM practitioner and founder of Aloha Fungi · about us


This content is for educational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. A food supplement does not replace a varied diet or a healthy lifestyle. If in doubt, consult your doctor or pharmacist.

Lion's mane in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

8

human studies

6

placebo-controlled RCTs (incl. 1 pilot)

1991–2026

years of publication

  • Menon A. et al., 2025

    B

    systematic review

    26 studies, including only 5 RCTs · number of people: not reported

    The review collected studies on the use of Hericium erinaceus as a supplement in the context of cognitive function and reported adverse effects. The authors noted that adverse effects are usually not reported in the literature.

    PMID 40959699
  • Mori K. et al., 2009

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    30 people, 50 to 80 years, Japan

    The study examined the effect of taking Hericium erinaceus on a cognitive function scale score in a group of 30 Japanese people aged 50 to 80 with mild cognitive impairment. Very small sample from a single population, the differences faded within 4 weeks after discontinuation.

    PMID 18844328
  • Nagano M. et al., 2010

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    30 women

    The study examined the effect of 4 weeks of Hericium erinaceus intake on questionnaire scores for mood, perimenopausal symptoms and sleep quality in a group of 30 women. Very small sample, women only.

    PMID 20834180
  • Saitsu Y. et al., 2019

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    not reported

    The study examined the effect of 12 weeks of taking a Hericium erinaceus fruiting-body supplement on cognitive function test results in a group of adult participants. The authors noted that evidence regarding human health remains uncertain.

    PMID 31413233
  • Li I.C. et al., 2020

    D

    pilot RCT, placebo-controlled

    49 randomised, 41 completed

    The study examined the effect of 49 weeks of taking erinacine A-enriched Hericium erinaceus mycelia on cognitive test results and safety parameters in patients with mild Alzheimer's disease. Small, pilot sample size, larger studies needed.

    PMID 32581767
  • Docherty S. et al., 2023

    D

    pilot RCT

    41 healthy adults

    The study examined the effect of a single dose and 28 days of Hericium erinaceus supplementation on cognitive test results, perceived stress and mood in a group of 41 healthy adults. Small sample, null results alongside positive ones, replication needed.

    PMID 38004235
  • Surendran G. et al., 2025

    C

    crossover RCT, placebo-controlled, single dose

    18 healthy adults

    The study examined the effect of a single dose of a standardised Hericium erinaceus fruiting-body extract on cognitive test results and mood measured 90 minutes after administration in a group of 18 healthy young adults. Very small sample requiring replication.

    PMID 40276537
  • Spangenberg E.T. et al., 2025

    E

    systematic review of preclinical studies · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable, 23 studies

    The review collected preclinical studies (in vitro and in rodents) on the role of erinacines in neuroprotection models. No standardisation of erinacine measurement, inconsistent reporting of strains and extraction methods.

    PMID 40626304
  • Kawagishi H. et al., 1991

    E

    compound isolation + in vitro test · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined, through compound isolation from the fruiting body and an in vitro test, which substances (hericenones C, D, E) stimulate nerve growth factor (NGF) synthesis. Historical chemistry paper (1991).

    DOI 10.1016/0040-4039(91)80039-9
  • Friedman M., 2015

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review collected data on the chemical composition, nutritional value and reported health properties of lion's mane. The author emphasises that many properties come from preclinical studies.

    PMID 26244378
  • Lai P.L. et al., 2013

    E

    in vitro · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined the effect of an aqueous extract on nerve fibre outgrowth in an in vitro cell culture, alone and combined with NGF. The preparation did not protect cells from oxidative damage despite its neurotrophic effect.

    PMID 24266378
  • Nakatsugawa M. et al., 2003

    D

    case report, safety

    1 patient, 63-year-old man

    The case report documented acute respiratory failure (pneumonitis) in a 63-year-old man after taking a lion's mane extract 4 months earlier. Single case, safety data, not an efficacy study.

    PMID 14714963
  • Daoust J. et al., 2026

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled (preprint, not peer-reviewed)

    109 people (57+52), 40-75 years, 8 weeks

    The study (preprint, not peer-reviewed) examined the effect of 8 weeks of 2 g daily fruiting-body and mycelium biomass supplementation on visual attention, working memory, sleep quality and mood tests in 109 adults aged 40-75 with reported cognitive difficulties. The authors themselves describe the results as "modest". Preprint status means no scientific peer review.

    DOI 10.64898/2026.04.13.26350781
  • Cornford N., Charnley M., 2025

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable (3 human studies + 13 animal studies discussed in the review)

    The narrative review analysed 3 human clinical studies and 13 animal studies on the prevention and delayed progression of Alzheimer's disease. The authors point to the need for additional human clinical studies.

    DOI 10.1017/S0954422425000058

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.
  • 1 entry/entries are case reports about safety, not efficacy studies.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Discover functional mushrooms

© 2026 Aloha Fungi™