Skip to content

Welcome to the new Aloha Fungi shop!Have a question or an idea? Message us on WhatsApp: MattKubaFranek

5 Lion's Mane extracts: 2026 comparison and how to choose

Lion's Mane (soplówka) extract 2026: fruiting body vs mycelium on grain, beta-glucan percentage, DER, hericenone control, price per gram, compared honestly.

Mateusz Rosa

TCM therapist · Doctor of Acupuncture (WFAS) · author of a book on functional mushrooms

11 min read

5 Lion's Mane extracts: 2026 comparison and how to choose
Contents

Lion's Mane (Latin Hericium erinaceus, Polish: soplówka jeżowata) is the mushroom most people reach for as their first step into functional mushrooms, and this 2026 comparison looks at it honestly. That also means the market is full of products with very different raw-material quality: some are fruiting-body extracts, some are powdered mycelium grown on grain (so-called mycelium on grain), and the label rarely says so directly. In our store's goal category, lion's mane sits under the label "Focus".

This article is a checklist and an honest comparison of five offers available in Poland, based on data collected directly from producer websites on 23 August 2026.

What's the difference between a fruiting-body extract and mycelium on grain?

The fruiting body is the mature part of the mushroom, tested for beta-glucan content. Mycelium on grain is dried with its substrate, so part of the weight is grain starch, not mushroom. Two different products: more detail in fruiting body versus mycelium.

Among the five brands with hard data we gathered (Aloha, Solve Labs, Abiovi, SOMA, Proton Labs), none openly admits to using mycelium on grain, which is itself telling: the word "fruiting body" has stopped being a differentiator, because almost everyone writes it. The real differentiator is whether a brand backs that word with a number (beta-glucan percentage) and a document (batch certificate), or leaves it as a bare claim on the label.

Why does the beta-glucan percentage say more than the polysaccharide percentage?

"Polysaccharides" is a broad category of compounds, usually measured by a cheap weight-based method that also picks up starch from a grain substrate. "Beta-glucans" are a narrower, specific group within polysaccharides, considered closer to the mushroom's actual content. A high polysaccharide percentage without a stated beta-glucan percentage does not prove the extract's strength.

This is the only field in our comparison that genuinely splits the market in two. Aloha (min. 30%) and Proton Labs (30%, per brand claim) state the beta-glucan percentage directly. Abiovi states only 30% polysaccharides, not beta-glucans. Solve Labs and SOMA don't state any percentage on the product page. When you see just "polysaccharides" without a number next to "beta-glucans," treat it as incomplete information, not automatically as a weaker product.

What do hericenones and erinacines mean on a label?

These compounds are characteristic of Lion's Mane, but distributed differently: hericenones occur mainly in the fruiting body, erinacines mainly in the mycelium. Measuring them (e.g. by HPLC) tells you about the composition of a specific batch, not a promise of an effect. Among the brands we gathered, only one describes controlling these compounds on its label.

It's worth reading this as a fact about market transparency, not a health argument. Researchers have studied hericenones and erinacines in the context of lion's mane biology for years, but that's a separate topic from what you see on a store's label. Laboratory control of these compounds only tells you the producer measured what's in the jar, not what it will do for you.

What does DER (e.g. 10:1, 12:1) mean on a label?

DER (Drug Extract Ratio) is the ratio of raw material used in production to the finished extract, e.g. 10:1 means 10 kg of raw material was used per 1 kg of extract. A higher DER sounds stronger, but on its own, without a stated beta-glucan percentage, it says little about the product's actual potency.

In our comparison, Abiovi declares a DER of 12:1, the highest among the offers with hard data, but states only a polysaccharide percentage, not beta-glucans. Aloha and Solve Labs work at DER 10:1, numerically lower, though Aloha pairs it with a named measurement method and batch testing. Read DER together with standardization, never on its own.

Is a per-batch COA certificate a market standard?

No. Among the brands we gathered there are three levels of transparency: a named batch plus a named laboratory plus a named method, publicly downloadable files, and a bare "we test" claim with no document. Missing a COA doesn't disqualify a product, but it narrows what you can verify yourself.

A Certificate of Analysis (COA) is a document confirming the test result of a specific production batch, typically heavy metals, pesticides and the declared standardization. Solve Labs stands out by offering one-click downloadable files, including species DNA authentication, something no other brand in our lineup does, Aloha included. That's worth admitting honestly: a "we test every batch" claim loses to a clickable file.

How much does a gram of lion's mane extract actually cost?

The price of a package says nothing without converting it to grams of actual extract inside. Among the brands we gathered, price per gram ranges from PLN 1.50 (Proton Labs) to PLN 5.39 (Abiovi, regular price) at similar standardization claims. Always divide the product price by the total extract mass in the package, not by the capsule count.

This is the field where differences are largest and most misleading if you only look at shelf price. SOMA doesn't state the package volume on its site, so a price-per-gram figure can't be calculated, which is itself a signal: no stated weight means no comparability.

Comparison table: Lion's Mane extracts available in Poland (data as of 23 August 2026)

The table below of Lion's Mane extracts includes only offers confirmed directly on live producer websites on 23 August 2026, leaving out reseller listings that could not be verified the same way. Where a producer does not state a value (standardization, DER, or price per gram), the table says so plainly instead of guessing.

Brand and productRaw materialStandardizationDERPrice / g extractTesting / COA
Aloha Fungi · Lion's Mane LONGEVITYfruiting body only (grown on oak and beech sawdust)min. 30% beta-glucans (Megazyme) + hericenone and erinacine control (HPLC)10:1PLN 4.76/g extract (PLN 119 for 50 g of powder, of which 25 g is 10:1 extract and 25 g powdered fruiting body)EUROFINS, every batch: heavy metals (ICP-MS), pesticides, beta-glucans, hericenone/erinacine profile
Solve Labs · Lion's Manefruiting bodies, wood-grownbeta-glucan percentage not stated on the page10:1PLN 2.63/ganalysis report + species DNA authentication + GBA Poland testing (downloadable files)
Abiovi · Lion's Mane extract 12:1fruiting body (brand line claim)30% polysaccharides (not beta-glucans)12:1PLN 4.31/g (promo) · PLN 5.39/g (regular price)testing claimed, no public COA
SOMA · No.01 Lion's Mane"fruiting bodies only" (brand claim)beta-glucan percentage not statednot stated (double extraction)not stated (package volume not given)no public COA
Proton Labs · Lion's Mane DER 10:1"fruiting bodies, not mycelium"50% polysaccharides / 30% beta-glucans (claim)10:1PLN 1.50/g"lab-tested," without a named laboratory or method on the page

Data collected directly from producer websites on 23 August 2026. Prices and promotions change day to day, check the current offer before buying.

Besides these five brands, the Polish market also includes Aliness, Curandera, Medverita, Młyn Oliwski, FungusLab and others, claiming e.g. 40%/20% beta-glucans (Aliness) or a DER of 30:1 (Młyn Oliwski). At the time of data collection we didn't have a confirmed price directly from the producer's site for these brands, so we've left them out of the price table. Check the current price and standardization with the producer before buying.

Which extract wins in which segment?

There's no single winner in this 2026 comparison: different criteria point to different products, depending on whether price, DER, or full verifiability of the number on the label matters most to you. Below are three segments and the brand that comes out ahead in each, along with what that edge doesn't tell you.

Cheapest per gram of extract goes to Proton Labs: PLN 1.50/g at a claimed 30% beta-glucans and DER 10:1. The product page, however, doesn't name a laboratory or a measurement method, only a general "lab-tested."

Highest DER on the label belongs to Abiovi (12:1), though the standardization covers polysaccharides, not beta-glucans.

Most fully verifiable in the comparison is Aloha Fungi: the only brand that names its measurement methods (Megazyme for beta-glucans, HPLC for hericenones and erinacines, ICP-MS for heavy metals) and tests every batch at a named laboratory (EUROFINS). That has to be said honestly alongside the weaknesses: the DER of 10:1 is lower than Abiovi's, the price of PLN 4.76/g extract is the highest among the prices current on the comparison date (Proton Labs PLN 1.50/g, Solve Labs PLN 2.63/g; only Abiovi's regular price, PLN 5.39/g, is higher), and Aloha doesn't publish a clickable COA file or the species DNA authentication that Solve Labs has. If you're counting nothing but zloty per gram, you'll find cheaper options. If a named measurement method and per-batch testing matter to you, that's where Aloha genuinely stands out.

An edge you cannot see on the label: Aloha Fungi does not buy its raw material from intermediaries. Yi, a Chinese technologist with twenty years in the functional-mushroom industry, is a co-owner of Aloha Fungi and personally leads product development and guards extract quality. Aloha Fungi's founder, Mateusz Rosa, a doctor of acupuncture trained in the TCM tradition, travels to Asia regularly and works directly with the founders of the farms and the producers. Most brands on this market import finished raw material through intermediaries, and such material is sometimes diluted with maltodextrin. There is no maltodextrin in Aloha, and every batch is tested to confirm it. Our Lab results page publishes passports for selected batches with beta-glucan, heavy-metal, pesticide, and microbiology results.

FAQ

Does a higher DER always mean a stronger extract? No. DER only tells you how much raw material was used per kilogram of extract, not exactly what remained in it. Without a stated beta-glucan percentage, a high DER is a marketing number, not proof of potency. Read DER together with standardization, never instead of it.

Does missing a COA certificate disqualify a product? Not automatically, but it narrows what you can verify. A producer who publishes a downloadable file (like Solve Labs) shows more than one who only claims to test. A missing COA is a signal to ask the producer before buying, not an immediate reason to walk away.

What are hericenones and erinacines, and do I need to look for them on the label? These are compounds characteristic of Lion's Mane, but distributed differently: hericenones occur mainly in the fruiting body, erinacines mainly in the mycelium (with small amounts in the fruiting body). Measuring them on a label is information about the transparency of a specific batch's composition, not a guarantee of an effect. If you're after maximum composition transparency, it's an extra item on the checklist, not a strict requirement.

Why don't some brands state a price per gram of extract? Because some sites don't publish the weight or volume of the package, only a capsule count or a bottle size without a conversion. Without that figure you can't compare prices honestly, treat a missing weight as information in itself.

Fruiting body or mycelium, how do I check in 30 seconds? Look for the words "fruiting body extract" on the label. If they're missing, and instead you see "mycelium," "mycelium on grain," or "biomass," ask the producer directly before comparing prices.

Is the most expensive lion's mane extract always the best? Not always, but the price often reflects the cost of testing every batch and working with the fruiting body instead of mycelium on grain. Instead of looking at the package price, convert it to price per gram and check whether a beta-glucan percentage is stated, not just polysaccharides.


This content is for educational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. A food supplement does not replace a varied diet or a healthy lifestyle. If in doubt, consult your doctor or pharmacist.

Lion's mane in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

8

human studies

6

placebo-controlled RCTs (incl. 1 pilot)

19912026

years of publication

  • Menon A. et al., 2025

    B

    systematic review

    26 studies, including only 5 RCTs · number of people: not reported

    The review collected studies on the use of Hericium erinaceus as a supplement in the context of cognitive function and reported adverse effects. The authors noted that adverse effects are usually not reported in the literature.

    PMID 40959699
  • Mori K. et al., 2009

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    30 people, 50 to 80 years, Japan

    The study examined the effect of taking Hericium erinaceus on a cognitive function scale score in a group of 30 Japanese people aged 50 to 80 with mild cognitive impairment. Very small sample from a single population, the differences faded within 4 weeks after discontinuation.

    PMID 18844328
  • Nagano M. et al., 2010

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    30 women

    The study examined the effect of 4 weeks of Hericium erinaceus intake on questionnaire scores for mood, perimenopausal symptoms and sleep quality in a group of 30 women. Very small sample, women only.

    PMID 20834180
  • Saitsu Y. et al., 2019

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    not reported

    The study examined the effect of 12 weeks of taking a Hericium erinaceus fruiting-body supplement on cognitive function test results in a group of adult participants. The authors noted that evidence regarding human health remains uncertain.

    PMID 31413233
  • Li I.C. et al., 2020

    D

    pilot RCT, placebo-controlled

    49 randomised, 41 completed

    The study examined the effect of 49 weeks of taking erinacine A-enriched Hericium erinaceus mycelia on cognitive test results and safety parameters in patients with mild Alzheimer's disease. Small, pilot sample size, larger studies needed.

    PMID 32581767
  • Docherty S. et al., 2023

    D

    pilot RCT

    41 healthy adults

    The study examined the effect of a single dose and 28 days of Hericium erinaceus supplementation on cognitive test results, perceived stress and mood in a group of 41 healthy adults. Small sample, null results alongside positive ones, replication needed.

    PMID 38004235
  • Surendran G. et al., 2025

    C

    crossover RCT, placebo-controlled, single dose

    18 healthy adults

    The study examined the effect of a single dose of a standardised Hericium erinaceus fruiting-body extract on cognitive test results and mood measured 90 minutes after administration in a group of 18 healthy young adults. Very small sample requiring replication.

    PMID 40276537
  • Spangenberg E.T. et al., 2025

    E

    systematic review of preclinical studies · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable, 23 studies

    The review collected preclinical studies (in vitro and in rodents) on the role of erinacines in neuroprotection models. No standardisation of erinacine measurement, inconsistent reporting of strains and extraction methods.

    PMID 40626304
  • Kawagishi H. et al., 1991

    E

    compound isolation + in vitro test · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined, through compound isolation from the fruiting body and an in vitro test, which substances (hericenones C, D, E) stimulate nerve growth factor (NGF) synthesis. Historical chemistry paper (1991).

    DOI 10.1016/0040-4039(91)80039-9
  • Friedman M., 2015

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review collected data on the chemical composition, nutritional value and reported health properties of lion's mane. The author emphasises that many properties come from preclinical studies.

    PMID 26244378
  • Lai P.L. et al., 2013

    E

    in vitro · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined the effect of an aqueous extract on nerve fibre outgrowth in an in vitro cell culture, alone and combined with NGF. The preparation did not protect cells from oxidative damage despite its neurotrophic effect.

    PMID 24266378
  • Nakatsugawa M. et al., 2003

    D

    case report, safety

    1 patient, 63-year-old man

    The case report documented acute respiratory failure (pneumonitis) in a 63-year-old man after taking a lion's mane extract 4 months earlier. Single case, safety data, not an efficacy study.

    PMID 14714963
  • Daoust J. et al., 2026

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled (preprint, not peer-reviewed)

    109 people (57+52), 40-75 years, 8 weeks

    The study (preprint, not peer-reviewed) examined the effect of 8 weeks of 2 g daily fruiting-body and mycelium biomass supplementation on visual attention, working memory, sleep quality and mood tests in 109 adults aged 40-75 with reported cognitive difficulties. The authors themselves describe the results as "modest". Preprint status means no scientific peer review.

    DOI 10.64898/2026.04.13.26350781
  • Cornford N., Charnley M., 2025

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable (3 human studies + 13 animal studies discussed in the review)

    The narrative review analysed 3 human clinical studies and 13 animal studies on the prevention and delayed progression of Alzheimer's disease. The authors point to the need for additional human clinical studies.

    DOI 10.1017/S0954422425000058

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.
  • 1 entry/entries are case reports about safety, not efficacy studies.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Discover functional mushrooms

© 2026 Aloha Fungi™

🍄 Our mushrooms eat cookies

Essential cookies keep the shop alive (cart, login) · always on. Analytics and marketing cookies help the mycelium grow: they show us what to improve and which stories reach you. We only turn them on with your consent, and you can change it anytime. Cookie policy