Skip to content

Welcome to the new Aloha Fungi shop!Have a question or an idea? Message us on WhatsApp: MattKubaFranek

Lion's mane (soplowka jezowata): what studies checked

Soplówka jeżowata na co? Lion's mane is studied for memory, mood and gut comfort. See exactly what the studies checked and their limits.

Mateusz Rosa

TCM therapist · Doctor of Acupuncture (WFAS) · author of a book on functional mushrooms

4 min read

Lion's mane (soplowka jezowata): what studies checked
Contents

Soplówka jeżowata na co is the Polish-language question behind this post: lion's mane is studied mainly in three areas: cognitive function and memory, mood, and gut comfort. The data come from a handful of small human studies (18 to just over 30 people) and from broader preclinical work on animals and in the lab. These are research directions for the raw material, not a proven effect of any specific product.

What areas get studied most for lion's mane (Hericium erinaceus)?

A 2025 systematic review (Menon et al.) collected 26 papers on Hericium erinaceus, of which only 5 were randomized human trials. The rest were preclinical. The authors noted that cognitive function got the most attention, and that adverse events are typically underreported in the literature, a documentation gap, not proof of safety.

What did the memory and cognitive function studies check?

The most-cited clinical study is Mori et al., 2009: 30 people aged 50 to 80 with mild cognitive impairment took 3 g of dried powder daily for 16 weeks (PMID: 18844328). Cognitive-scale scores differed from placebo during supplementation but returned to baseline after stopping.

More recent, smaller studies (Saitsu et al. 2019, 12 weeks, PMID: 31413233; Docherty et al. 2023, a pilot in 41 healthy adults, PMID: 38004235; Surendran et al. 2025, a single dose in 18 people, PMID: 40276537) checked similar questions in other populations, with mixed results.

What did the mood studies check?

Nagano et al., 2010 checked the effect of 4 weeks of lion's mane on mood, anxiety and sleep-quality questionnaires in a group of 30 women. The sample was small and female-only, so the result doesn't generalize to other populations.

What the studies checked (lion's mane)

The table below lines up the five most-cited studies: type, sample size, exactly what was checked, and the PMID to verify the source. Rows run from the largest systematic review down to single randomized clinical trials, so scope and sample size are easy to compare.

study (author, year)typein whomwhat it checkedPMID
Menon et al., 2025systematic review26 papers, incl. 5 RCTsbenefits, side effects, and uses as a supplement40959699
Mori et al., 2009placebo-controlled RCT30 people, aged 50-80cognitive-scale score after 16 weeks of 3 g/day18844328
Nagano et al., 2010placebo-controlled RCT30 womenmood, anxiety and sleep quality after 4 weeks20834180
Saitsu et al., 2019placebo-controlled RCTN not reportedcognitive function after 12 weeks of fruiting-body powder31413233
Docherty et al., 2023pilot RCT41 healthy adultscognitive function, stress and mood, single and 28-day dosing38004235

What these studies don't tell you

Every human study here has a small sample (18-41 people, PMID: 38004235, 40276537) from one population, so results don't transfer to another age group or product. A raw-material study isn't a study of a shop-bought supplement; dose and extract form differ between papers.

FAQ: frequently asked questions

Is there proven evidence that lion's mane improves memory? There's no conclusive clinical evidence from a large trial. Available studies are small, cover different populations and doses, so we talk about research directions rather than a confirmed effect.

How many human studies exist for lion's mane? A 2025 systematic review found 5 randomized human trials among 26 reviewed papers. The rest are preclinical, animal or in vitro studies.

Are lion's mane and soplowka jezowata the same mushroom? Yes, they're two names for the same species, Hericium erinaceus: the English name (Lion's Mane) and the Polish name (soplowka jezowata).

Read more about the species and forms on the lion's mane page and on the product page. Safety is covered in a separate post on contraindications and side effects, and the doses used in clinical trials are listed in the post on lion's mane dosage.


This content is for educational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. A food supplement does not replace a varied diet or a healthy lifestyle. If in doubt, consult your doctor or pharmacist.

Lion's mane in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

8

human studies

6

placebo-controlled RCTs (incl. 1 pilot)

19912026

years of publication

  • Menon A. et al., 2025

    B

    systematic review

    26 studies, including only 5 RCTs · number of people: not reported

    The review collected studies on the use of Hericium erinaceus as a supplement in the context of cognitive function and reported adverse effects. The authors noted that adverse effects are usually not reported in the literature.

    PMID 40959699
  • Mori K. et al., 2009

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    30 people, 50 to 80 years, Japan

    The study examined the effect of taking Hericium erinaceus on a cognitive function scale score in a group of 30 Japanese people aged 50 to 80 with mild cognitive impairment. Very small sample from a single population, the differences faded within 4 weeks after discontinuation.

    PMID 18844328
  • Nagano M. et al., 2010

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    30 women

    The study examined the effect of 4 weeks of Hericium erinaceus intake on questionnaire scores for mood, perimenopausal symptoms and sleep quality in a group of 30 women. Very small sample, women only.

    PMID 20834180
  • Saitsu Y. et al., 2019

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    not reported

    The study examined the effect of 12 weeks of taking a Hericium erinaceus fruiting-body supplement on cognitive function test results in a group of adult participants. The authors noted that evidence regarding human health remains uncertain.

    PMID 31413233
  • Li I.C. et al., 2020

    D

    pilot RCT, placebo-controlled

    49 randomised, 41 completed

    The study examined the effect of 49 weeks of taking erinacine A-enriched Hericium erinaceus mycelia on cognitive test results and safety parameters in patients with mild Alzheimer's disease. Small, pilot sample size, larger studies needed.

    PMID 32581767
  • Docherty S. et al., 2023

    D

    pilot RCT

    41 healthy adults

    The study examined the effect of a single dose and 28 days of Hericium erinaceus supplementation on cognitive test results, perceived stress and mood in a group of 41 healthy adults. Small sample, null results alongside positive ones, replication needed.

    PMID 38004235
  • Surendran G. et al., 2025

    C

    crossover RCT, placebo-controlled, single dose

    18 healthy adults

    The study examined the effect of a single dose of a standardised Hericium erinaceus fruiting-body extract on cognitive test results and mood measured 90 minutes after administration in a group of 18 healthy young adults. Very small sample requiring replication.

    PMID 40276537
  • Spangenberg E.T. et al., 2025

    E

    systematic review of preclinical studies · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable, 23 studies

    The review collected preclinical studies (in vitro and in rodents) on the role of erinacines in neuroprotection models. No standardisation of erinacine measurement, inconsistent reporting of strains and extraction methods.

    PMID 40626304
  • Kawagishi H. et al., 1991

    E

    compound isolation + in vitro test · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined, through compound isolation from the fruiting body and an in vitro test, which substances (hericenones C, D, E) stimulate nerve growth factor (NGF) synthesis. Historical chemistry paper (1991).

    DOI 10.1016/0040-4039(91)80039-9
  • Friedman M., 2015

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review collected data on the chemical composition, nutritional value and reported health properties of lion's mane. The author emphasises that many properties come from preclinical studies.

    PMID 26244378
  • Lai P.L. et al., 2013

    E

    in vitro · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined the effect of an aqueous extract on nerve fibre outgrowth in an in vitro cell culture, alone and combined with NGF. The preparation did not protect cells from oxidative damage despite its neurotrophic effect.

    PMID 24266378
  • Nakatsugawa M. et al., 2003

    D

    case report, safety

    1 patient, 63-year-old man

    The case report documented acute respiratory failure (pneumonitis) in a 63-year-old man after taking a lion's mane extract 4 months earlier. Single case, safety data, not an efficacy study.

    PMID 14714963
  • Daoust J. et al., 2026

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled (preprint, not peer-reviewed)

    109 people (57+52), 40-75 years, 8 weeks

    The study (preprint, not peer-reviewed) examined the effect of 8 weeks of 2 g daily fruiting-body and mycelium biomass supplementation on visual attention, working memory, sleep quality and mood tests in 109 adults aged 40-75 with reported cognitive difficulties. The authors themselves describe the results as "modest". Preprint status means no scientific peer review.

    DOI 10.64898/2026.04.13.26350781
  • Cornford N., Charnley M., 2025

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable (3 human studies + 13 animal studies discussed in the review)

    The narrative review analysed 3 human clinical studies and 13 animal studies on the prevention and delayed progression of Alzheimer's disease. The authors point to the need for additional human clinical studies.

    DOI 10.1017/S0954422425000058

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.
  • 1 entry/entries are case reports about safety, not efficacy studies.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Discover functional mushrooms

© 2026 Aloha Fungi™

🍄 Our mushrooms eat cookies

Essential cookies keep the shop alive (cart, login) · always on. Analytics and marketing cookies help the mycelium grow: they show us what to improve and which stories reach you. We only turn them on with your consent, and you can change it anytime. Cookie policy