Skip to content

Welcome to the new Aloha Fungi shop!Have a question or an idea? Message us on WhatsApp: MattKubaFranek

Lion's mane: dosage used in research studies

Soplówka jeżowata dawkowanie: what doses of lion's mane were used in clinical studies, for how many weeks, and why that's not a recommendation for you.

Mateusz Rosa

TCM therapist · Doctor of Acupuncture (WFAS) · author of a book on functional mushrooms

4 min read

Lion's mane: dosage used in research studies
Contents

Soplówka jeżowata dawkowanie in clinical studies ranged from 3 g of dried powder daily (16 weeks) to single doses of standardized extract. These are research doses used in specific protocols, not a recommendation for you. Always check the correct serving on the label of your specific product.

What doses have been tested in lion's mane studies?

The most-cited clinical study (Mori et al., 2009) used 3 g of dried powder daily for 16 weeks in 30 people aged 50 to 80 (PMID: 18844328). Nagano et al., 2010 tested a different form over 4 weeks in 30 women (PMID: 20834180).

A pilot study by Li et al., 2020 ran for as long as 49 weeks and used mycelium enriched with erinacine A, a different raw-material form than fruiting-body powder (PMID: 32581767). Docherty et al., 2023 checked both a single dose and 28 days of supplementation (PMID: 38004235).

Why doesn't the study dose translate to a concentrated extract?

The 3 g/day research dose in Mori et al. (PMID: 18844328) referred to dried fruiting-body powder, not a concentrated extract. Compound concentration in a high-DER extract (e.g. 10:1) is usually far higher per gram than in plain powder, so carrying a dose 1:1 across forms doesn't make sense.

Always set your dose from the label of your specific product, not from a single cited study.

What the studies checked (dose and duration)

The table below lines up the six studies cited in this post: type, sample size, dose and duration, and the PMID to verify the source. Raw-material forms and supplementation length vary across rows, so read the dose together with the "in whom" and duration columns.

study (author, year)typein whomdose and duration in the studyPMID
Mori et al., 2009placebo-controlled RCT30 people, aged 50-803 g dried powder daily, 16 weeks18844328
Nagano et al., 2010placebo-controlled RCT30 womenlion's mane preparation, 4 weeks20834180
Saitsu et al., 2019placebo-controlled RCTN not reportedfruiting-body powder, 12 weeks31413233
Li et al., 2020pilot RCT49 randomized, 41 completederinacine-A-enriched mycelium, 49 weeks32581767
Docherty et al., 2023pilot RCT41 healthy adultssingle dose and 28-day supplementation38004235
Surendran et al., 2025crossover RCT18 healthy adultssingle dose of standardized extract40276537

What these studies don't tell you

The studies vary in raw-material form (fruiting-body powder vs enriched mycelium), duration (4 to 49 weeks) and sample size (a dozen to a few dozen people, see the table above), so no single universal dose can be derived from them. None of them tested the dose of the specific product you're buying.

FAQ: frequently asked questions

Which lion's mane dose was studied for the longest? The pilot study by Li et al., 2020 ran for 49 weeks and used mycelium enriched with erinacine A, a different raw-material form than the fruiting-body powder used in Mori et al.

Can I use the 3 g/day dose from the Mori et al. study? That dose referred to dried fruiting-body powder in one specific clinical trial, not a concentrated extract. Stick to the serving printed on your product's label, since concentrations differ between forms.

Do shorter 4-week studies tell us anything about long-term use? Not directly. Shorter studies (Nagano et al., 4 weeks) ask a different question than multi-month ones (Li et al., 49 weeks), and results from one don't carry over to the other.

The full species profile is on the lion's mane page, and dosage details for the product are on the lion's mane product card. What the research actually looked at is covered in the post on lion's mane study areas, and safety is covered in the post on contraindications and side effects.


This content is for educational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. A food supplement does not replace a varied diet or a healthy lifestyle. If in doubt, consult your doctor or pharmacist.

Lion's mane in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

8

human studies

6

placebo-controlled RCTs (incl. 1 pilot)

19912026

years of publication

  • Menon A. et al., 2025

    B

    systematic review

    26 studies, including only 5 RCTs · number of people: not reported

    The review collected studies on the use of Hericium erinaceus as a supplement in the context of cognitive function and reported adverse effects. The authors noted that adverse effects are usually not reported in the literature.

    PMID 40959699
  • Mori K. et al., 2009

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    30 people, 50 to 80 years, Japan

    The study examined the effect of taking Hericium erinaceus on a cognitive function scale score in a group of 30 Japanese people aged 50 to 80 with mild cognitive impairment. Very small sample from a single population, the differences faded within 4 weeks after discontinuation.

    PMID 18844328
  • Nagano M. et al., 2010

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    30 women

    The study examined the effect of 4 weeks of Hericium erinaceus intake on questionnaire scores for mood, perimenopausal symptoms and sleep quality in a group of 30 women. Very small sample, women only.

    PMID 20834180
  • Saitsu Y. et al., 2019

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    not reported

    The study examined the effect of 12 weeks of taking a Hericium erinaceus fruiting-body supplement on cognitive function test results in a group of adult participants. The authors noted that evidence regarding human health remains uncertain.

    PMID 31413233
  • Li I.C. et al., 2020

    D

    pilot RCT, placebo-controlled

    49 randomised, 41 completed

    The study examined the effect of 49 weeks of taking erinacine A-enriched Hericium erinaceus mycelia on cognitive test results and safety parameters in patients with mild Alzheimer's disease. Small, pilot sample size, larger studies needed.

    PMID 32581767
  • Docherty S. et al., 2023

    D

    pilot RCT

    41 healthy adults

    The study examined the effect of a single dose and 28 days of Hericium erinaceus supplementation on cognitive test results, perceived stress and mood in a group of 41 healthy adults. Small sample, null results alongside positive ones, replication needed.

    PMID 38004235
  • Surendran G. et al., 2025

    C

    crossover RCT, placebo-controlled, single dose

    18 healthy adults

    The study examined the effect of a single dose of a standardised Hericium erinaceus fruiting-body extract on cognitive test results and mood measured 90 minutes after administration in a group of 18 healthy young adults. Very small sample requiring replication.

    PMID 40276537
  • Spangenberg E.T. et al., 2025

    E

    systematic review of preclinical studies · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable, 23 studies

    The review collected preclinical studies (in vitro and in rodents) on the role of erinacines in neuroprotection models. No standardisation of erinacine measurement, inconsistent reporting of strains and extraction methods.

    PMID 40626304
  • Kawagishi H. et al., 1991

    E

    compound isolation + in vitro test · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined, through compound isolation from the fruiting body and an in vitro test, which substances (hericenones C, D, E) stimulate nerve growth factor (NGF) synthesis. Historical chemistry paper (1991).

    DOI 10.1016/0040-4039(91)80039-9
  • Friedman M., 2015

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review collected data on the chemical composition, nutritional value and reported health properties of lion's mane. The author emphasises that many properties come from preclinical studies.

    PMID 26244378
  • Lai P.L. et al., 2013

    E

    in vitro · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined the effect of an aqueous extract on nerve fibre outgrowth in an in vitro cell culture, alone and combined with NGF. The preparation did not protect cells from oxidative damage despite its neurotrophic effect.

    PMID 24266378
  • Nakatsugawa M. et al., 2003

    D

    case report, safety

    1 patient, 63-year-old man

    The case report documented acute respiratory failure (pneumonitis) in a 63-year-old man after taking a lion's mane extract 4 months earlier. Single case, safety data, not an efficacy study.

    PMID 14714963
  • Daoust J. et al., 2026

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled (preprint, not peer-reviewed)

    109 people (57+52), 40-75 years, 8 weeks

    The study (preprint, not peer-reviewed) examined the effect of 8 weeks of 2 g daily fruiting-body and mycelium biomass supplementation on visual attention, working memory, sleep quality and mood tests in 109 adults aged 40-75 with reported cognitive difficulties. The authors themselves describe the results as "modest". Preprint status means no scientific peer review.

    DOI 10.64898/2026.04.13.26350781
  • Cornford N., Charnley M., 2025

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable (3 human studies + 13 animal studies discussed in the review)

    The narrative review analysed 3 human clinical studies and 13 animal studies on the prevention and delayed progression of Alzheimer's disease. The authors point to the need for additional human clinical studies.

    DOI 10.1017/S0954422425000058

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.
  • 1 entry/entries are case reports about safety, not efficacy studies.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Discover functional mushrooms

© 2026 Aloha Fungi™

🍄 Our mushrooms eat cookies

Essential cookies keep the shop alive (cart, login) · always on. Analytics and marketing cookies help the mycelium grow: they show us what to improve and which stories reach you. We only turn them on with your consent, and you can change it anytime. Cookie policy