Journal
7 reishi extracts: 2026 ranking and how to choose
Reishi 2026 extract ranking: fruiting body, beta-glucan percentage, named test method, batch certificate and price per gram. How to choose honestly.
TCM therapist · Doctor of Acupuncture (WFAS) · author of a book on functional mushrooms
11 min read

Contents
- Why are reishi extracts hard to compare?
- Fruiting body or mycelium on grain: why is this the first criterion?
- What is the difference between beta-glucan percentage and polysaccharide percentage?
- Why does a named test method matter?
- Why a per-batch certificate of analysis (COA), not a general "lab tested"?
- How much does reishi extract cost per gram, not per package?
- Comparison table: reishi extracts available in Poland (data from 23 August 2026)
- Which reishi extract should you choose, depending on your priority?
- FAQ
This Reishi 2026 comparison looks at reishi (Ganoderma lucidum), one of the most popular functional mushrooms on the Polish market, where a growing number of brands makes extracts hard to compare. One brand writes "30% polysaccharides", another "18:1", a third only "fruiting body extract". These are not the same measurements, and without a shared language you cannot compare two packages fairly.
This ranking gathers data exclusively from live producer websites (as of 23 August 2026) and organizes it around five criteria that actually differentiate the market: fruiting body versus mycelium on grain, beta-glucan percentage, a named test method, a per-batch certificate, and price per gram of actual extract. It includes our own Aloha product too, strengths and weaknesses alike.
Why are reishi extracts hard to compare?
Because producers describe composition using different, non-interchangeable measures: one states DER (raw material to extract ratio), another a "polysaccharide" percentage, another a beta-glucan percentage, and some give no numbers at all. Two packages at the same price can hide completely different real mushroom content.
On top of that, some brands price by package, not by the amount of actual extract inside, since part of the powder can be raw material rather than a concentrated extract. A comparison only makes sense once you reduce every offer to the same, countable categories. That is what this ranking does.
Fruiting body or mycelium on grain: why is this the first criterion?
It comes first because it decides what you are buying. The fruiting body is the mature part of the mushroom, used for decoctions. Mycelium on grain dries with its substrate, so part of the weight is starch, not mushroom. Full comparison: fruiting body versus mycelium.
Among the brands gathered here, the premium ones state plainly "fruiting body" or "fruiting bodies": Aloha, Abiovi, Solve Labs, SOMA, Aliness and Proton Labs. None of the compared brands admits to using mycelium on grain, which means the word "fruiting body" alone has stopped being a differentiator. What differentiates them is whether the brand backs that claim with a number and a document.
What is the difference between beta-glucan percentage and polysaccharide percentage?
Beta-glucans are a specific, measurable compound group in reishi. Polysaccharides are a broader category that also includes starch from the substrate mycelium may have grown on. A high "polysaccharide" percentage without a separate beta-glucan number doesn't tell you how much is actually beta-glucans, and how much is starch measured by the same, cheap weight-based method.
This is one of the few fields in this comparison that genuinely splits the market in half. Beta-glucans as a number are stated by Aloha (min. 30%), Aliness (20% within a triple standardization of 40/20/1) and Proton Labs (30% within a standardization of 50/30/2). Abiovi states only a polysaccharide percentage (30 to 58%, depending on batch), without a separate beta-glucan number. Solve Labs and SOMA state neither percentage on the product page.
Why does a named test method matter?
Because a number on a label alone says nothing about how it was measured. "30% beta-glucans" measured by the Megazyme method (an enzymatic test recognized in the industry) carries a different level of verifiability than the same number without a stated method. The phrase "lab tested" without naming the laboratory or the method is a declaration, not proof.
Among the brands gathered here, only Aloha names both the test method and the laboratory: Megazyme for beta-glucans, ICP-MS for heavy metals, laboratory EUROFINS. Solve Labs publishes a separate product analysis report together with species DNA authentication (testing by GBA Poland), which is unique in this comparison, though it is not a beta-glucan test method. The remaining brands either declare testing without details, or do not mention it at all.
Why a per-batch certificate of analysis (COA), not a general "lab tested"?
Because a mushroom's composition naturally varies from batch to batch, so a single, years-old blanket certificate says less with every harvest season that passes. A certificate of analysis (COA) issued for the specific, current batch confirms what is actually in the package you are holding, not the package from a year ago.
Aloha tests every batch at EUROFINS (heavy metals, pesticide residues, beta-glucans), but the certificate is not yet available as a one-click download on the product page, only on request. Solve Labs has an edge here: the analysis report and DNA authentication are downloadable directly from the product page. The other brands in this comparison either declare testing without a public document, or provide nothing.
How much does reishi extract cost per gram, not per package?
Price per package is not comparable, because packages differ in weight and in how much of the powder or capsule is actual extract. Converting to price per gram of pure extract shows a spread of more than threefold in this comparison: from PLN 1.50 to PLN 4.76 per gram.
Proton Labs (PLN 1.50/g) and Aliness (PLN 1.80/g) come out lowest. Aloha comes out highest (PLN 4.76/g), because the LONGEVITY line is deliberately 50% extract and 50% powdered fruiting body, that is, the full spectrum of the raw material rather than a purely concentrated extract. If you count only the price per milligram of extract, you will buy cheaper elsewhere. That needs to be said plainly, because it is a real difference in the wallet.
Comparison table: reishi extracts available in Poland (data from 23 August 2026)
The table below of reishi extracts includes only offers confirmed directly on live producer websites, leaving out reseller listings that could not be verified. Where a producer does not state a piece of information (raw material, DER, beta-glucan percentage or test method), the table says "not stated" rather than guessing on its behalf.
| Brand and product | Raw material | DER | Beta-glucans | Test method | Batch COA | Price / g extract |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aloha Fungi, Reishi LONGEVITY | fruiting body, semi-wild cultivation | 10:1 | min. 30% | Megazyme, ICP-MS, EUROFINS | yes, every batch | PLN 4.76/g |
| Abiovi, Reishi extract 18:1 | 100% fruiting body | 18:1 | not stated (only polysaccharides 30 to 58%) | not stated | testing declared, no public document | PLN 4.31/g (promo) / PLN 5.39/g (regular price) |
| Solve Labs, Reishi 10:1 | fruiting bodies, wood-grown cultivation | 10:1 | not stated | not stated | yes, analysis report and DNA authentication downloadable | PLN 2.63/g |
| SOMA, No.04 Reishi | 100% fruiting bodies | not stated | not stated | not stated | no public document | not calculable, no stated package volume |
| Aliness, Reishi 40/20/1 | fruiting bodies | not stated | 20% (40/20/1 standardization) | not stated | no public document | PLN 1.80/g |
| Proton Labs, Reishi DER 12:1 | fruiting bodies only | 12:1 | 30% (50/30/2 standardization) | not stated | no public document | PLN 1.50/g |
| BeKeto, Med Shroom Reishi | fruiting body extract | not stated | not stated | not stated | no information | not calculable, no stated extract weight |
We left out offers (including MYQO, MycoMedica, Pharmovit) whose data came only from partner-store listings, not from a live producer page, so we could not confirm them with the same confidence. Before you compare them yourself, check the data directly with the producer.
Which reishi extract should you choose, depending on your priority?
There is no single winner, because different criteria are won by different brands. If price per gram matters most, Proton Labs and Aliness are cheaper. If DER, the raw-material-to-extract ratio, matters most, Abiovi (18:1) comes out ahead. If verifiability of the method and laboratory behind the number matters most, Aloha comes out ahead.
- Cheapest per gram of extract: Proton Labs, PLN 1.50/g, a declared 30% beta-glucans within a 50/30/2 standardization. The product page does not, however, state a laboratory name or test method, so the number has to be taken on the producer's word.
- Highest DER: Abiovi, 18:1, higher than Solve Labs (10:1), Proton Labs (12:1) or Aloha (10:1). DER alone says nothing about beta-glucan percentage though, since Abiovi states only a polysaccharide percentage.
- Most fully verifiable testing: Aloha, the only brand in this comparison naming both the test method (Megazyme, ICP-MS) and the laboratory (EUROFINS) testing every batch. That comes at a cost: PLN 4.76/g is the highest price per gram of extract among the prices current on the comparison date (only Abiovi's regular price, PLN 5.39/g, is higher), more than three times Proton Labs.
Solve Labs has a separate edge no other brand in this comparison has: public DNA authentication, that is, confirmation that the package actually contains Ganoderma lucidum, downloadable from the product page.
An edge you cannot see on the label: Aloha Fungi does not buy its raw material from intermediaries. Yi, a Chinese technologist with twenty years in the functional-mushroom industry, is a co-owner of Aloha Fungi and personally leads product development and guards extract quality. Aloha Fungi's founder, Mateusz Rosa, a doctor of acupuncture trained in the TCM tradition, travels to Asia regularly and works directly with the founders of the farms and the producers. Most brands on this market import finished raw material through intermediaries, and such material is sometimes diluted with maltodextrin. There is no maltodextrin in Aloha, and every batch is tested to confirm it. Our Lab results page publishes passports for selected batches with beta-glucan, heavy-metal, pesticide, and microbiology results.
The right choice depends on what "best" means to you. A lower price per gram, a higher DER, or full verifiability of the number on the label are three different priorities, not three degrees of the same scale.
FAQ
Does a higher DER (e.g. 18:1) always mean a stronger extract? Not automatically. DER only tells you how much raw material was used per unit of finished extract, and says nothing about the beta-glucan percentage or whether the raw material was fruiting body or mycelium on grain. A high DER without a stated beta-glucan percentage gives you less information than a lower DER with a number and a named test method.
Why does a "polysaccharide" percentage tell you less than a beta-glucan percentage? Because polysaccharides are a broad category of compounds that also includes starch from the substrate mycelium may have grown on. Beta-glucans are a narrower, specific compound group in the mushroom. A label with a beta-glucan percentage gives you more precise information than a label with only a polysaccharide percentage.
Is a cheaper reishi extract lower quality? Not always. In this comparison, the cheapest offers (Proton Labs, Aliness) state beta-glucan percentages in the same range as more expensive brands, just without a named test method or laboratory. Here, price differentiates verifiability of the claim more than the number on the label itself.
What is a COA certificate, and does every producer provide one? A COA, or certificate of analysis, is a document confirming the composition of a specific product batch, for example heavy metal content or beta-glucan percentage. Among the brands gathered here, Solve Labs has a public, downloadable document. Aloha tests every batch at EUROFINS, but without a public file to download directly from the product page. Most other brands do not provide one at all.
Fruiting body or mycelium, what is the difference for a buyer? The fruiting body is the mature part of the reishi mushroom, traditionally used for decoctions. Mycelium grown on grain is dried together with the substrate, so grain starch ends up in the product too. Every brand in this comparison declares fruiting body, but not every one backs that declaration with a beta-glucan number.
Does the form (powder, drops, capsules) affect standardization? The form itself does not change standardization, but it affects how much extract actually ends up in a single serving. The same standardization percentage in a 300 mg capsule and in a 2 g scoop of powder means a different amount of beta-glucans in the daily dose, so it is worth checking the serving weight, not only the percentage on the label.
This content is for educational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. A food supplement does not replace a varied diet or a healthy lifestyle. If in doubt, consult your doctor or pharmacist.