Skip to content

Welcome to the new Aloha Fungi shop!Have a question or an idea? Message us on WhatsApp: MattKubaFranek

Mushrooms in scientific research (144)

We collected the scientific studies on the 11 mushroom species we sell: who ran them, on which group, with which study design, in which year. Every entry has a PMID or DOI so you can verify it yourself.

144

studies total

49

studies on humans

19692026

year range

Lion's mane

Studies: 14 · On humans: 8 · RCT: 6 · Years: 19912026

Reishi

Studies: 11 · On humans: 8 · RCT: 3 · Years: 20052025

Cordyceps

Studies: 18 · On humans: 9 · RCT: 3 · Years: 20002026

Chaga

Studies: 12 · On humans: 0 · RCT: 0 · Years: 20142024

Turkey tail (Coriolus)

Studies: 19 · On humans: 10 · RCT: 2 · Years: 20032026

Maitake

Studies: 13 · On humans: 7 · RCT: 1 · Years: 19942026

Tremella

Studies: 9 · On humans: 2 · RCT: 2 · Years: 20072025

Shiitake

Studies: 12 · On humans: 2 · RCT: 0 · Years: 19692023

Wood ear (Auricularia)

Studies: 15 · On humans: 1 · RCT: 0 · Years: 19982025

Polyporus

Studies: 11 · On humans: 0 · RCT: 0 · Years: 19922025

Poria

Studies: 10 · On humans: 2 · RCT: 1 · Years: 20032025

Lion's mane in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

8

human studies

6

placebo-controlled RCTs (incl. 1 pilot)

19912026

years of publication

  • Menon A. et al., 2025

    B

    systematic review

    26 studies, including only 5 RCTs · number of people: not reported

    The review collected studies on the use of Hericium erinaceus as a supplement in the context of cognitive function and reported adverse effects. The authors noted that adverse effects are usually not reported in the literature.

    PMID 40959699
  • Mori K. et al., 2009

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    30 people, 50 to 80 years, Japan

    The study examined the effect of taking Hericium erinaceus on a cognitive function scale score in a group of 30 Japanese people aged 50 to 80 with mild cognitive impairment. Very small sample from a single population, the differences faded within 4 weeks after discontinuation.

    PMID 18844328
  • Nagano M. et al., 2010

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    30 women

    The study examined the effect of 4 weeks of Hericium erinaceus intake on questionnaire scores for mood, perimenopausal symptoms and sleep quality in a group of 30 women. Very small sample, women only.

    PMID 20834180
  • Saitsu Y. et al., 2019

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    not reported

    The study examined the effect of 12 weeks of taking a Hericium erinaceus fruiting-body supplement on cognitive function test results in a group of adult participants. The authors noted that evidence regarding human health remains uncertain.

    PMID 31413233
  • Li I.C. et al., 2020

    D

    pilot RCT, placebo-controlled

    49 randomised, 41 completed

    The study examined the effect of 49 weeks of taking erinacine A-enriched Hericium erinaceus mycelia on cognitive test results and safety parameters in patients with mild Alzheimer's disease. Small, pilot sample size, larger studies needed.

    PMID 32581767
  • Docherty S. et al., 2023

    D

    pilot RCT

    41 healthy adults

    The study examined the effect of a single dose and 28 days of Hericium erinaceus supplementation on cognitive test results, perceived stress and mood in a group of 41 healthy adults. Small sample, null results alongside positive ones, replication needed.

    PMID 38004235
  • Surendran G. et al., 2025

    C

    crossover RCT, placebo-controlled, single dose

    18 healthy adults

    The study examined the effect of a single dose of a standardised Hericium erinaceus fruiting-body extract on cognitive test results and mood measured 90 minutes after administration in a group of 18 healthy young adults. Very small sample requiring replication.

    PMID 40276537
  • Spangenberg E.T. et al., 2025

    E

    systematic review of preclinical studies · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable, 23 studies

    The review collected preclinical studies (in vitro and in rodents) on the role of erinacines in neuroprotection models. No standardisation of erinacine measurement, inconsistent reporting of strains and extraction methods.

    PMID 40626304
  • Kawagishi H. et al., 1991

    E

    compound isolation + in vitro test · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined, through compound isolation from the fruiting body and an in vitro test, which substances (hericenones C, D, E) stimulate nerve growth factor (NGF) synthesis. Historical chemistry paper (1991).

    DOI 10.1016/0040-4039(91)80039-9
  • Friedman M., 2015

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review collected data on the chemical composition, nutritional value and reported health properties of lion's mane. The author emphasises that many properties come from preclinical studies.

    PMID 26244378
  • Lai P.L. et al., 2013

    E

    in vitro · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined the effect of an aqueous extract on nerve fibre outgrowth in an in vitro cell culture, alone and combined with NGF. The preparation did not protect cells from oxidative damage despite its neurotrophic effect.

    PMID 24266378
  • Nakatsugawa M. et al., 2003

    D

    case report, safety

    1 patient, 63-year-old man

    The case report documented acute respiratory failure (pneumonitis) in a 63-year-old man after taking a lion's mane extract 4 months earlier. Single case, safety data, not an efficacy study.

    PMID 14714963
  • Daoust J. et al., 2026

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled (preprint, not peer-reviewed)

    109 people (57+52), 40-75 years, 8 weeks

    The study (preprint, not peer-reviewed) examined the effect of 8 weeks of 2 g daily fruiting-body and mycelium biomass supplementation on visual attention, working memory, sleep quality and mood tests in 109 adults aged 40-75 with reported cognitive difficulties. The authors themselves describe the results as "modest". Preprint status means no scientific peer review.

    DOI 10.64898/2026.04.13.26350781
  • Cornford N., Charnley M., 2025

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable (3 human studies + 13 animal studies discussed in the review)

    The narrative review analysed 3 human clinical studies and 13 animal studies on the prevention and delayed progression of Alzheimer's disease. The authors point to the need for additional human clinical studies.

    DOI 10.1017/S0954422425000058

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.
  • 1 entry/entries are case reports about safety, not efficacy studies.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Reishi in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

8

human studies

3

placebo-controlled RCTs

20052025

years of publication

  • Jin X. et al., 2016

    A

    Cochrane systematic review with meta-analysis

    5 RCTs, total number of people not reported

    The review collected randomised studies on the use of Ganoderma lucidum in the context of oncological treatment. The authors noted unsatisfactory methodological quality of the primary studies, incomplete outcome reporting, no long-term survival data, and adverse events reported in only one study.

    PMID 27045603
  • Klupp N.L. et al., 2015

    A

    Cochrane systematic review with meta-analysis

    5 studies, 398 people

    The review collected randomised studies on the effect of Ganoderma lucidum on cardiovascular risk factors in people with type 2 diabetes. The authors noted that only 3 of 5 studies provided data suitable for statistical analysis.

    PMID 25686270
  • Jafari A. et al., 2025

    B

    systematic review with meta-analysis, GRADE assessment

    17 RCTs, 971 people

    The review collected clinical trials on Ganoderma lucidum supplementation regarding anthropometric, metabolic, inflammatory and liver markers. GRADE-assessed evidence quality was very low for all analysed outcomes.

    PMID 40510787
  • Zhong L. et al., 2019

    B

    systematic review with meta-analysis of RCTs

    23 studies, 4246 people

    The review collected randomised studies on Coriolus versicolor and Ganoderma lucidum preparations used as adjunct therapy in oncology patients. Studies were conducted almost exclusively in Asia, with heterogeneous preparations and doses.

    PMID 31333449
  • Klupp N.L. et al., 2016

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    84 people

    The study examined the effect of Ganoderma lucidum, alone and combined with Cordyceps sinensis, on glycaemic parameters and other cardiovascular risk factors in 84 people with type 2 diabetes and metabolic syndrome. Observation period limited to 16 weeks.

    PMID 27511742
  • Noguchi M. et al., 2008

    C

    RCT

    88 men over 49 years old

    The study examined the effect of an ethanol extract of Ganoderma lucidum on lower urinary tract symptoms in 88 men over 49 years old. The authors recommended further evaluation on a larger sample and over a longer period.

    PMID 18097505
  • Aref M. et al., 2023

    E

    meta-analysis of animal studies · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable, 49 papers

    The review collected animal studies on the effect of Ganoderma lucidum on serum lipid profile. Dose variation between studies, scope limited to animal models.

    PMID 38116485
  • Tang W. et al., 2005

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    132 people (China)

    The study examined the effect of 8 weeks of taking a Ganoderma lucidum polysaccharide extract on a neurasthenia symptom severity scale score in 132 Chinese patients. Limitations were not stated explicitly in the abstract.

    PMID 15857210
  • Cui X.Y. et al., 2012

    E

    animal study (rats) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The rat study examined the effect of a 3-day Ganoderma lucidum extract administration (80 mg/kg) on total sleep time and NREM sleep, and on TNF-α levels in blood and brain, using TNF-α blocking antibodies to test the mechanism.

    PMID 22207209
  • Chu Q.P. et al., 2007

    E

    animal study (rats) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The rat study examined the effect of an aqueous extract (80 and 120 mg/kg) on sleep architecture in healthy animals and on pentobarbital-induced sleep, using flumazenil to test the GABAergic mechanism.

    PMID 17383716
  • Wang X. et al., 2025

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    110 randomised (55/group in final analysis), 12 weeks

    The study examined the effect of 12 weeks of Ganoderma lucidum spore oil supplementation (3 g daily, approx. 1 g triterpenes) on lipid profile and kidney/liver safety in people with borderline elevated triglycerides. Limited to a population with borderline hypertriglyceridemia and a short 12-week observation period.

    PMID 40077714

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Cordyceps in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

9

human studies

3

placebo-controlled RCTs

20002026

years of publication

  • Zhou J. et al., 2021

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    59 people

    The study examined Cordyceps militaris as an add-on to duloxetine for insomnia associated with depression, in a group of 59 people, using a double-blind, placebo-controlled RCT design.

    PMID 34858228
  • Ontawong A. et al., 2024

    C

    RCT

    40 healthy adults

    The study examined the effect of a Cordyceps militaris beverage on immune response in 40 healthy adults, using an RCT design.

    PMID 38580687
  • Dubhashi S. et al., 2023

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    65 enrolled, 58 evaluated

    The study examined Cordyceps militaris in mild-to-moderate COVID-19, using a double-blind, placebo-controlled RCT, with 65 people enrolled (58 evaluated).

    PMID 37727187
  • Yang E.-J. et al., 2026

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review collected in vitro, in vivo and clinical data on Cordyceps militaris.

    PMID 41432716
  • Shu M.-Y. et al., 2025

    B

    systematic review with meta-analysis

    14 RCTs, 528 athletes

    The systematic review with meta-analysis collected 14 RCTs (528 athletes) on functional mushroom supplementation in athletes; the review covers multiple mushroom species at once, not only Cordyceps militaris.

    PMID 41280379
  • Choi E. et al., 2020

    E

    animal study (mice) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The mouse study examined the effect of Cordyceps militaris on physical performance.

    PMID 33312018
  • Hirsch K.R. et al., 2017

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled (mushroom blend, not an isolated species)

    28 (acute phase), 10 (chronic phase)

    The study examined the effect of a mushroom blend containing C. militaris (4 g/day) on VO2max, time to exhaustion, ventilatory threshold and power in a cycle ergometer test, using 1-week and 3-week protocols in trained adults. Limitations: n=10 in the chronic phase, a multi-ingredient preparation not isolating the species.

    PMID 27408987
  • Jędrejko M. et al., 2026

    E

    narrative review of human studies · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    5 studies, 321 participants aged 16-35

    The narrative review collected 5 intervention studies (2017-2024) on ergogenic effects and post-exercise recovery with supplementation in humans. Small samples, heterogeneous participants and protocols, incomplete randomisation reporting, most studies not registered.

    PMID 41829950
  • Tuli H.S. et al., 2014

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The review discussed the pharmacological potential of the genus Cordyceps, with particular focus on cordycepin, based on in vitro/in vivo data.

    DOI 10.1007/s13205-013-0121-9
  • Olatunji O.J. et al., 2018

    E

    narrative review (whole genus Cordyceps) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The review collected traditional uses, phytochemistry and pharmacology of the entire genus Cordyceps without separating species.

    PMID 29775778
  • Du J. et al., 2021

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The paper discussed mechanisms of cordycepin interaction with adenosine receptors and hypothetically linked this to brain protection and COVID-19. Purely theoretical, with no original data.

    DOI 10.26502/jbb.2642-91280035
  • Ko K.M., Leung H.Y., 2007

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The review discussed TCM tonic herbs (Cordyceps as one of several) in the context of ATP, antioxidation and immunomodulation. Does not isolate Cordyceps.

    PMID 17386115
  • Chen S. et al., 2010

    D

    pilot RCT

    20 enrolled, 15 completed

    The pilot randomised study examined the effect of the Cs-4 preparation (a fermented Cordyceps sinensis product) on physical performance in older adults, 20 enrolled, 15 completed.

    PMID 20804368
  • Parcell A.C. et al., 2004

    C

    RCT, double-blind

    22 cyclists

    The double-blind RCT examined the effect of the CordyMax Cs-4 preparation (Cordyceps sinensis) on performance in 22 cyclists.

    PMID 15118196
  • Yu X. et al., 2019

    B

    systematic review with meta-analysis

    14 RCTs, 1192 people

    The systematic review with meta-analysis collected 14 RCTs (1192 people) on Cordyceps sinensis in stable chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD).

    PMID 31073318
  • Wu F. et al., 2025

    B

    systematic review with meta-analysis of RCTs

    15 RCTs, 1310 people

    The meta-analysis collected RCTs on oral Cordyceps sinensis as adjunct therapy in patients with renal dysfunction (creatinine, oliguria duration, urine osmolality). Small samples, short observation periods, predominance of studies from China.

    PMID 39839641
  • Kumar R. et al., 2011

    E

    animal study (rats) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The rat study examined exercise endurance capacity and skeletal muscle metabolic regulators after Cordyceps sinensis administration.

    PMID 21549819
  • Chiou W.F. et al., 2000

    E

    animal (rats) + in vitro (aorta) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study in anaesthetised rats and isolated aortic rings examined the effect of a Cordyceps sinensis protein fraction on arterial pressure (intravenous administration) and vascular relaxation. Animal model, intravenous administration, does not translate to an oral supplement.

    PMID 10755473

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Chaga in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

0

human studies

0

placebo-controlled RCTs

20142024

years of publication

  • Fordjour E. et al., 2023

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed the properties and potential applications of chaga described in the literature.

    PMID 38116085
  • Tee Yon Ern P. et al., 2023

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed the properties of Inonotus obliquus described in the literature.

    PMID 38813471
  • Camilleri E. et al., 2024

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The brief narrative review discussed the medicinal and nutraceutical significance of chaga.

    PMID 39170453
  • Glamočlija J. et al., 2015

    E

    in vitro + chemistry · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study examined the chemical composition and biological activity of chaga extracts.

    PMID 25576897
  • Géry A. et al., 2018

    E

    in vitro · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study examined the anticancer activity of chaga extracts on cell lines.

    PMID 29484963
  • Arata S. et al., 2016

    E

    animal study (mice) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The mouse study examined the effect of continuous administration of an aqueous chaga extract on cancer progression.

    PMID 27441282
  • Wang J. et al., 2017

    E

    animal study (mice) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study in streptozotocin-induced type 2 diabetic mice examined the anti-diabetic effect of Inonotus obliquus polysaccharides.

    PMID 28954386
  • Kwon O. et al., 2022

    D

    case report, safety

    1 patient, 69-year-old man

    The case report documented oxalate nephropathy after chaga intake, clinically manifesting as nephrotic syndrome in a 69-year-old man. Single case, safety data.

    PMID 35451393
  • Lee S. et al., 2020

    D

    case report, safety

    1 patient, 49-year-old man

    The case report documented the development of end-stage renal disease after long-term chaga ingestion in a 49-year-old man. Single case, safety data.

    PMID 32419395
  • Wold C.W. et al., 2018

    E

    chemistry + in vitro · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined the chemical structure of polysaccharide fractions from the inner and outer parts of the fruiting body (structural methods) and their effect on nitric oxide production in mouse macrophage and dendritic cell lines in vitro.

    PMID 29421057
  • Kikuchi Y. et al., 2014

    D

    case report, safety (chronologically the first of three)

    1 patient, 72-year-old woman

    The case report documented a link between 6 months of chaga powder intake (4-5 teaspoons daily) by a 72-year-old woman after hepatectomy for liver cancer and worsening kidney function requiring haemodialysis; biopsy showed diffuse tubular atrophy, interstitial fibrosis and oxalate crystals. Chronologically the first of three reported cases (2014, before Lee 2020 and Kwon 2022).

    PMID 23149251
  • Shen D. et al., 2022

    E

    in vitro · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined the effect of the extract on nitric oxide levels and inflammatory markers in resting M0 macrophages and LPS-activated M1 macrophages in vitro, at various concentrations.

    DOI 10.1155/2022/8251344

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.
  • No human intervention studies exist for this species. Available data comes from preclinical studies (in vitro, animal) and does not translate directly to humans.
  • 3 entry/entries are case reports about safety, not efficacy studies.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Turkey tail (Coriolus) in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

10

human studies

2

placebo-controlled RCTs

20032026

years of publication

  • Pilkington K. et al., 2022

    A

    Cochrane review with meta-analysis (PSK, drug)

    7 RCTs, 1569 people

    The Cochrane systematic review with meta-analysis collected 7 RCTs (1569 people) on the effect of PSK (a pharmaceutical drug, not a supplement) on adverse effects of chemotherapy/radiotherapy in colorectal cancer.

    PMID 36445793
  • Oba K. et al., 2006

    A

    meta-analysis of RCTs (PSK, drug)

    8 RCTs, 8009 patients

    The meta-analysis of RCTs collected 8 studies (8009 patients) on PSK (a drug) as adjunct therapy in gastric cancer.

    PMID 17106715
  • Ma Y. et al., 2017

    B

    network meta-analysis (PSK, drug)

    23 studies, 10,684 patients

    The network meta-analysis collected 23 studies (10,684 patients) on PSK (a drug) in gastrointestinal cancers.

    PMID 29179503
  • Zhong L. et al., 2019

    B

    meta-analysis of RCTs

    23 studies, 4246 people

    The meta-analysis of RCTs collected 23 studies (4246 people) on Coriolus versicolor and Ganoderma lucidum preparations used as adjunct therapy in oncology patients.

    PMID 31333449
  • Tsang K.W. et al., 2003

    C

    pilot RCT, placebo-controlled (PSP, drug)

    68 people

    The pilot placebo-controlled RCT examined PSP (a drug) in non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) in 68 people.

    PMID 12814145
  • Torkelson C.J. et al., 2012

    D

    phase I, dose escalation (whole extract, not a drug)

    11 recruited, 9 completed

    The phase I dose-escalation study examined the safety and tolerability of a whole Trametes versicolor extract (not the purified PSK/PSP drug) in women after radiotherapy for breast cancer. 11 recruited, 9 completed.

    PMID 22701186
  • Pallav K. et al., 2014

    C

    RCT (PSP, drug)

    24 recruited, 22 completed

    The RCT examined the effect of PSP (a drug) combined with amoxicillin on the gut microbiome of healthy people. 24 recruited, 22 completed.

    PMID 25006989
  • Koda K. et al., 2003

    C

    RCT (PSK, drug)

    558 people

    The RCT examined PSK (a drug) added to postoperative chemotherapy in 558 people.

    PMID 12792790
  • Yu Z.T. et al., 2013

    E

    in vitro (human faecal fermentation, PSP) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    number of donors not specified

    The in vitro study examined the fermentation of PSP by human faecal microbiota cultured outside the body (bacterial composition, pH) compared with fructooligosaccharides.

    PMID 23435630
  • Saleh M.H. et al., 2017

    E

    narrative review (PSP) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed the immunomodulatory mechanisms of PSP (cytokines, tumour microenvironment) in the context of adjuvant therapy in Asia.

    PMID 28932226
  • Wenner C.A. et al., 2012

    E

    animal (mice, PSK) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not specified

    The mouse study examined PSK (a drug) combined with docetaxel (tumour size, lymphocyte infiltration, NK cell activity).

    PMID 22159900
  • Standish L.J. et al., 2008

    E

    narrative review (PSK) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The review synthesised Asian RCTs on PSK (a drug: gastric, colorectal, oesophageal, breast cancer) and immunological mechanisms. No data on the effect of the whole extract as distinct from PSK.

    PMID 19087769
  • Wong E.L.Y. et al., 2012

    B

    systematic review with meta-analysis (PSK, drug)

    13 clinical studies

    The meta-analysis examined the effect of PSK (a drug) preparations added to standard treatment on survival of cancer patients, based on 13 clinical studies.

    PMID 22185453
  • Habtemariam S., 2020

    E

    narrative review (PSP and PSK) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The review synthesised in vitro, in vivo and clinical evidence for commercial PSP and PSK preparations as adjunct therapy.

    PMID 32466253
  • Cui J., Chisti Y., 2003

    E

    narrative review, bioprocess-focused (PSP) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review focused on the biotechnological production of PSP, with a brief discussion of biological activity.

    PMID 14499133
  • Knežević A. et al., 2018

    E

    in vitro, 3 Trametes species · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study examined antioxidant, antifungal, cytotoxic activity and acetylcholinesterase/tyrosinase inhibition for extracts of three Trametes species from Serbia.

    PMID 30169542
  • Muszyńska B. et al., 2018

    E

    general review (not specifically about Coriolus) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    General review of the anti-inflammatory properties of edible mushrooms; does not specifically concern Coriolus, a source shared across multiple species hubs.

    PMID 29146352
  • Saxe G. et al., 2026

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled (combined FoTv preparation, not Coriolus alone)

    90 (52 FoTv, 38 placebo)

    The RCT examined the safety and feasibility of administering the FoTv mycelium preparation (Fomitopsis officinalis + Trametes versicolor) as an adjunct to COVID-19 vaccination, with observation up to 6 months. A combined preparation of two species; results cannot be attributed to Trametes versicolor alone.

    PMID 41620671
  • Ziaja-Sołtys M., Jaszek M., 2025

    E

    review (no full PRISMA protocol), mostly preclinical · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    11 studies, including 1 phase I study (= 5.6)

    The review collected 11 studies (2010-2025) on Coriolus versicolor in breast cancer, mostly cell lines and mice, plus one phase I study. Larger placebo-controlled studies are needed.

    DOI 10.3390/cimb47100808

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Maitake in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

7

human studies

1

placebo-controlled RCTs

19942026

years of publication

  • Jogi E.M. et al., 2026

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    47 healthy people aged 60+

    The double-blind, placebo-controlled RCT examined the effect of Grifola frondosa on cognitive function in 47 healthy people aged 60+.

    PMID 42055721
  • Deng G. et al., 2009

    D

    phase I/II, dose escalation

    34 women

    The phase I/II dose-escalation study examined the safety and immunological effects of a Grifola frondosa extract in 34 women after breast cancer treatment.

    PMID 19253021
  • Wesa K.M. et al., 2015

    D

    phase II

    21 enrolled, 18 evaluated

    The phase II study examined a Grifola frondosa extract in myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) in 21 enrolled people (18 evaluated).

    PMID 25351719
  • Chen J.-T. et al., 2010

    D

    randomised, open-label, no blinding

    80 patients

    The randomised, open-label study (no blinding) examined a Grifola frondosa extract in polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS) in 80 patients.

    PMID 21034160
  • Ulbricht C. et al., 2009

    B

    systematic review

    not applicable

    The systematic review (Natural Standard methodology) collected available data on the uses and safety of Grifola frondosa.

    PMID 19476741
  • Kodama N. et al., 2003

    D

    observational, uncontrolled

    10 patients

    The uncontrolled observational study examined the effect of the D-fraction from Grifola frondosa on NK cell activity in 10 oncology patients.

    PMID 14977447
  • Zhao F. et al., 2021

    E

    animal meta-analysis · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    24 studies

    The preclinical meta-analysis collected 24 animal studies on Grifola frondosa.

    PMID 34271115
  • Liu J. et al., 2023

    E

    animal study · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    20 mice

    The study in 20 mice examined the safety of long-term administration of various Grifola frondosa doses.

    PMID 37193332
  • Konno S. et al., 2001

    D

    pilot, research letter, uncontrolled

    6 patients

    A brief research letter described glycaemia observations in six type 2 diabetes patients taking the extract. Very small sample, no control group.

    PMID 11903406
  • Konno S. et al., 2013

    E

    mechanistic in vitro (L6 cells) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined the mechanism of action of the SX-fraction on the insulin signalling pathway in L6 muscle cells, referencing the author's earlier clinical observations.

    PMID 23569395
  • Konno S., 2020

    E

    narrative review by the fraction's author · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    A narrative review summarised data on the SX-fraction in type 2 diabetes; the author is also the fraction's original researcher.

    PMID 33384765
  • Kubo K., Aoki H., Nanba H., 1994

    E

    animal study (N and dose not verified) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not established in this literature review

    The oldest paper in this set, an animal study on the anti-diabetic activity of the fruiting-body extract (first description of the so-called X-fraction). Animal number and dose were not verified in this literature review.

    PMID 7820117
  • Wu J.-Y., Siu K.-C., Geng P., 2021

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The review collected data on bioactive compounds (polysaccharides, beta-glucans, proteins, sterols, phenols) and their effects described in the literature.

    PMID 33466429

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Tremella in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

2

human studies

2

placebo-controlled RCTs

20072025

years of publication

  • Gitsomboon S. et al., 2024

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled

    56 people

    The 12-week trial examined a Tremella beverage versus placebo, measuring HbA1c and waist circumference in overweight/obese adults with prediabetes. Single-centre, small sample, the authors note the need for larger RCTs.

    PMID 38439104
  • Ban S. et al., 2018

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled, 3 arms

    75 people (30/30/15)

    The trial examined 8 weeks of 600 mg or 1200 mg daily capsules versus placebo in people with subjective cognitive impairment: safety, memory complaint questionnaire, memory and executive function tests, and grey matter volume (MRI). Small placebo group (15 people), short duration.

    PMID 29319408
  • Wu Y.J. et al., 2019

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed the chemical structure, bioactivity and applications of Tremella fuciformis polysaccharides, without measuring effects in humans.

    PMID 31030755
  • Park K.J. et al., 2007

    E

    in vitro (PC12h cell line) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study (PC12h cell line) examined the neuroprotective and neurotrophic effects of a Tremella fuciformis extract.

    PMID 24015063
  • Park H.J. et al., 2012

    E

    in vitro + animal (rats) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study combined a cell model (PC12 neurite outgrowth) with an animal model (restoring trimethyltin-impaired memory in rats) after Tremella fuciformis administration.

    PMID 22185695
  • Fu H. et al., 2021

    E

    in vitro (human dermal fibroblasts) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study on human dermal fibroblasts examined whether Tremella fuciformis polysaccharides inhibit UVA-induced photodamage.

    PMID 33686752
  • Shen T. et al., 2017

    E

    in vitro (fibroblasts) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study on human dermal fibroblasts examined whether a Tremella fuciformis polysaccharide reduces hydrogen peroxide-induced damage by upregulating SIRT1.

    PMID 28627707
  • Galla R. et al., 2025

    E

    chemical analysis of the raw material · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The chemical analysis of the raw material examined whether a compound from Tremella fuciformis has a structure and chemical profile comparable to animal-derived hyaluronic acid.

    PMID 40282763
  • Moon G. et al., 2025

    E

    animal (mice) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The preclinical mouse study examined the anti-stress effects of enzymatic Tremella fuciformis extracts.

    PMID 40077789

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Shiitake in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

2

human studies

0

placebo-controlled RCTs

19692023

years of publication

  • Dai X. et al., 2015

    C

    parallel RCT, 2 doses, no placebo

    52 people (21-41 years old, healthy)

    The trial examined 4 weeks of eating 5 g or 10 g dried Shiitake daily in healthy adults, measuring ex vivo proliferation and activation of γδ-T and NK-T cells, salivary sIgA, CRP and cytokine profile. No placebo group, only a young healthy population, short duration; the authors themselves note the shortage of human intervention studies.

    PMID 25866155
  • Chihara G. et al., 1969

    E

    animal, isolated polysaccharide fraction (lentinan) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The mouse study measured inhibition of sarcoma S-180 by an isolated polysaccharide fraction from Lentinus edodes (the founding paper for the lentinan drug, not a supplement).

    PMID 5768289
  • Xu H. et al., 2016

    E

    in vitro + animal (S-180 tumour) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro and animal study (S-180 tumour model) examined the anticancer effect of β-glucan from Lentinus edodes and its mechanism.

    PMID 27353254
  • Wang H., Yin X. et al., 2015

    B

    meta-analysis of 12 clinical studies (injectable lentinan + chemotherapy, drug)

    950 people (492 lentinan / 458 control)

    The meta-analysis collected 12 clinical studies of intravenous lentinan added to NSCLC chemotherapy (efficacy, toxicity), data from 2 databases (PubMed, CNKI). An intravenous pharmaceutical preparation, clearly different from an oral fruiting-body supplement, analogous to PSK/PSP for Coriolus.

    PMID 26548936
  • Sugiyama K. et al., 1995

    E

    animal (rats) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The rat study examined the mechanism by which eritadenine (a Shiitake compound) lowers cholesterol via changes in hepatic phospholipid metabolism.

    PMID 7643248
  • Yang H. et al., 2013

    E

    animal (mice) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study in hypercholesterolemic mice examined the effect of Lentinus edodes on fat removal.

    PMID 24255670
  • Israilides C. et al., 2008

    E

    in vitro (MCF-7, lymphocytes) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study (MCF-7 cell line and lymphocytes) examined the cytostatic and immunomodulatory properties of Lentinula edodes.

    PMID 18242970
  • Bisen P.S. et al., 2010

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed the pharmacological properties of Lentinus edodes described in the literature.

    PMID 20491636
  • Ahmad I. et al., 2023

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed the therapeutic and nutraceutical values of shiitake described in the literature.

    DOI 10.1016/j.tifs.2023.03.007
  • Xu X. et al., 2014

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed the isolation, structure and immunomodulatory activity of Lentinus edodes polysaccharides.

    PMID 24236998
  • Brown G.D., Gordon S., 2003

    E

    narrative review of beta-glucans in general (not specifically about Shiitake) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed fungal beta-glucans and mammalian immunity in general; does not specifically concern Shiitake, a source shared across multiple species hubs.

    PMID 14499107
  • Muszyńska B. et al., 2018

    E

    general review (not specifically about Shiitake) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    General review of the anti-inflammatory properties of edible mushrooms; does not specifically concern Shiitake, a source shared across multiple species hubs.

    PMID 29146352

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Wood ear (Auricularia) in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

1

human studies

0

placebo-controlled RCTs

19982025

years of publication

  • Liu E. et al., 2021

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed Auricularia auricula-judae as a functional food.

    PMID 33543932
  • Cai M. et al., 2015

    E

    in vitro · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study examined the extraction, antimicrobial and antioxidant activity of crude polysaccharides from wood ear mushroom.

    PMID 26349516
  • Kho Y.S. et al., 2009

    E

    in vitro · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study examined the antioxidant capacity of fresh and processed fruiting bodies and mycelium of wood ear.

    PMID 19298211
  • Yoon S.J. et al., 2003

    E

    in vitro · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study examined the antithrombin-mediated anticoagulant activity of a polysaccharide from Auricularia auricula.

    PMID 14967412
  • Bian C. et al., 2020

    E

    in vitro · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study examined extraction optimisation, structural characterisation and anticoagulant activity of acidic polysaccharides from wood ear.

    PMID 32041370
  • Bian C. et al., 2022

    E

    animal study (mice) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The mouse study examined whether a novel polysaccharide from Auricularia auricula alleviates carrageenan-induced thrombosis.

    PMID 35956781
  • Jeong H. et al., 2007

    E

    animal study (rats) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study in diet-induced hyperlipidemic rats examined the hypolipidemic effects of biopolymers from wood ear.

    PMID 24015062
  • Chen G. et al., 2011

    E

    animal study (ICR mice) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study in ICR mice examined the cholesterol-lowering effect of an Auricularia auricula ethanol extract.

    PMID 23572806
  • Zeng F. et al., 2013

    E

    chemistry + animal (mice) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study combined chemistry with a mouse model, examining the properties of a polysaccharide purified from solid-state fermentation as a hypolipidemic agent.

    PMID 23909573
  • Yuan Z. et al., 1998

    E

    animal study (KK-Ay mice) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study in genetically diabetic KK-Ay mice examined the hypoglycaemic effect of a water-soluble polysaccharide from wood ear.

    PMID 9836425
  • Liu N. et al., 2021

    E

    animal study (mice) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study in high-fat-diet and streptozotocin-induced diabetic mice examined the hypoglycaemic effect of Auricularia auricula polysaccharides.

    PMID 34505615
  • Hou R. et al., 2019

    E

    animal study (mice) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The mouse study examined the characterisation of natural melanin from Auricularia auricula and its hepatoprotective effect against acute alcohol-induced liver injury.

    PMID 30706914
  • Liu X. et al., 2019

    E

    in vitro / chemistry · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The chemistry/in vitro study examined melanin extraction from Auricularia auricula waste residue.

    PMID 31763027
  • Ma Z. et al., 2022

    E

    in vitro (biosynthesis) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study examined the biosynthetic pathways of melanin in Auricularia auricula.

    PMID 35419841
  • Son E.H. et al., 2025

    D

    open-label RCT (no blinding), maltodextrin control · the first human study found for wood ear

    50 people (24/26)

    The study examined 8 weeks of consuming a functional food with wood ear powder twice daily versus a control, measuring body composition, waist circumference, lipid profile, fibre intake, constipation scales (CAS, ROME II) and gut microbiota in Korean middle-aged adults. Open-label study (formally randomised but unblinded). The authors noted a small sample, no long-term data, and no dose-dependence assessment.

    PMID 39968271

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Polyporus in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

0

human studies

0

placebo-controlled RCTs

19922025

years of publication

  • Zhang G. et al., 2010

    E

    animal study (rats) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The rat study examined diuretic activity and the expression of aquaporins (AQP1-3) and the V2 receptor in the kidney medulla after Polyporus umbellatus administration.

    PMID 20083182
  • Zhang G. et al., 2011

    E

    animal study · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The animal study examined whether an aqueous extract of Polyporus umbellatus sclerotium inhibits urinary bladder carcinogenesis.

    PMID 21213404
  • Li X. et al., 2010

    E

    in vitro (mouse dendritic cells) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study examined the activation of mouse dendritic cells by a purified Polyporus umbellatus polysaccharide via the TLR4 receptor.

    PMID 20673883
  • Li X., Xu W., 2011

    E

    in vitro (macrophages) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The in vitro study examined macrophage activation by a Polyporus umbellatus polysaccharide fraction via the TLR4 receptor.

    PMID 20600759
  • Zhang G.W. et al., 2015

    E

    animal study · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The animal study examined the efficacy of Zhuling (Polyporus) polysaccharide combined with BCG vaccine in inhibiting bladder carcinoma.

    PMID 25542103
  • Ohsawa T. et al., 1992

    E

    structural chemistry + in vitro (L1210 line) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The chemistry study isolated seven new compounds (polyporusterones A-G) from the fruiting body and tested cytotoxicity in vitro.

    PMID 1576664
  • Yuan D. et al., 2004

    E

    compound isolation + animal model · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study isolated an anti-aldosteronic (diuretic) compound from Polyporus sclerotium and tested it in an animal model.

    PMID 15187435
  • Zhao Y.Y., 2013

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The review collected knowledge on the traditional use, phytochemistry, pharmacology and quality control of Polyporus umbellatus; the author notes that the studies are mostly preclinical.

    PMID 23811047
  • Brown G.D., Gordon S., 2003

    E

    narrative review of beta-glucans in general (not specifically about Polyporus) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed fungal beta-glucans and mammalian immunity in general; does not specifically concern Polyporus, a source shared across multiple species hubs.

    PMID 14499107
  • Muszyńska B. et al., 2018

    E

    general review (not specifically about Polyporus) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    General review of the anti-inflammatory properties of edible mushrooms; does not specifically concern Polyporus, a source shared across multiple species hubs.

    PMID 29146352
  • Gao W. et al., 2025

    B

    systematic review of chemistry and preclinical bioactivity (qualified) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    156 and 28 hepatitis B patients (the PUP pharmaceutical drug, 1990s, no randomisation or blinding)

    The review collected over 50 years of research on the extraction, structure and bioactivity of Polyporus polysaccharides, with one reference to two historical, open-label studies of the Chinese PUP drug in hepatitis B patients. These are NOT RCTs or dietary-supplement studies; the review is systematic regarding chemistry, not clinical efficacy, hence a qualified level B.

    PMID 39885918

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.
  • No human intervention studies exist for this species. Available data comes from preclinical studies (in vitro, animal) and does not translate directly to humans.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Poria in scientific research

What was studied, on how many people and with what level of evidence. This overview describes studies, not the effects of a product.

2

human studies

1

placebo-controlled RCTs

20032025

years of publication

  • Hao Y., Song W., Qu L., 2024

    C

    RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled (3-ingredient combination)

    70 people, 4 weeks

    The study examined 4 weeks of a Poria cocos + Ziziphus spinosa + GABA combination on PSQI questionnaire scores, total sleep time and skin parameters in 70 people with sleep complaints. Three ingredients at once; the effect cannot be attributed to poria alone.

    PMID 38873452
  • Kim H. et al., 2023

    D

    monotherapy clinical study (no mention of randomisation/placebo in the abstract)

    21 people, 800 mg in the evening

    The study examined the effect of the extract (800 mg in the evening) on sleep parameters measured by questionnaire and polysomnography in 21 people with insomnia (mean age approx. 55). The abstract does not specify randomisation or a placebo group; very small sample.

    PMID 37836526
  • Wei C. et al., 2022

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed the pharmacological profiles and therapeutic applications of pachymic acid (a compound from poria).

    DOI 10.3892/etm.2022.11484
  • Rios J.L., 2011

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed the chemical composition and pharmacological properties of Poria cocos.

    PMID 21347995
  • Chao C.L. et al., 2021

    E

    in vitro / activity review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The review and in vitro study discussed the role of lanostane triterpenoids from Poria cocos in immunoregulatory activity.

    DOI 10.3390/life11020111
  • Li T.H. et al., 2011

    E

    preclinical mechanistic study · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The preclinical, mechanistic study examined the anti-hyperglycaemic properties of crude extract and triterpenes from Poria cocos.

    DOI 10.1155/2011/128402
  • Li Z. et al., 2025

    E

    narrative review · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed progress in research on the bioactivity, chemical composition and pharmacological mechanism of Wolfiporia cocos.

    DOI 10.3389/fcell.2025.1547633
  • Zhang D.D. et al., 2022

    E

    animal study (rats) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The study examined the effect of a water-soluble polysaccharide on anxiety-like behaviour after sleep deprivation, gut microbiota, and the TNF-α/NF-κB pathway in rats.

    PMID 35642970
  • Brown G.D., Gordon S., 2003

    E

    narrative review of beta-glucans in general (not specifically about poria) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    The narrative review discussed fungal beta-glucans and mammalian immunity in general; does not specifically concern poria, a source shared across multiple species hubs.

    PMID 14499107
  • Muszyńska B. et al., 2018

    E

    general review (not specifically about poria) · preclinical studies (in vitro and rodent)

    not applicable

    General review of the anti-inflammatory properties of edible mushrooms; does not specifically concern poria, a source shared across multiple species hubs.

    PMID 29146352

Evidence levels: A · Cochrane review · B · systematic review · C · placebo RCT · D · pilot RCT · E · preclinical studies

What these studies don't say

  • Samples are usually small, most from a single population.
  • Results describe research interventions, not a dietary supplement.
  • The presence of a study is not a health claim.

Source: Aloha Fungi literature review, 1 September 2026; entries verified via PubMed or by DOI (Crossref). See the research

Dietary supplements do not treat disease. This overview describes WHAT was studied and on which group, not efficacy.

© 2026 Aloha Fungi™

🍄 Our mushrooms eat cookies

Essential cookies keep the shop alive (cart, login) · always on. Analytics and marketing cookies help the mycelium grow: they show us what to improve and which stories reach you. We only turn them on with your consent, and you can change it anytime. Cookie policy